Forthcoming Books from City Lights Publishers!

Here's a list of what we're working on now, and what we're planning for the immediate future. Take a look, tell your friends and sign up to receive an email alert to let you know as soon as they become available. When you place your order, you'll receive a 30% web-only discount.




1 2 >>>


Product image
Behind the Moon
Madison Smartt Bell
A hypnotizing tale of a daughter's journey into a numinous dream state, and a mother's intuitive pilgrimage of atonement.
Product image
Holy Ghost
City Lights Spotlight No. 15
David Brazil
Anarcho-socialism meets Christian mysticism in an Occupy veteran's avant-garde poems.
Product image
Whistleblower at the CIA
An Insider's Account of the Politics of Intelligence
Melvin A. Goodman
A former CIA analyst tells the inside story of political corruption inside the organization, and what he did to stop it.
Product image
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?
Mumia Abu-Jamal
A powerful indictment of the history of police violence against people of color, from slavery to today's Black Lives Matter.
Product image
Like a Dog
Tara Jepsen
A scrappy young skateboarder's story of underground worlds and fringe existences, confusing family relationships and the struggle for intimacy.
Product image
Heaven Is All Goodbyes
Pocket Poets Series No. 61
Tongo Eisen-Martin
The much-awaited second book by a truly revolutionary poet, in the lineage of Gil Scott-Heron, Allen Ginsberg, and Audre Lorde.
Product image
Storming the Wall
Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security
Todd Miller
Fast-paced frontline reportage chronicling how climate change is accelerating migration, border build-up, and militarization in the U.S. and beyond.
Product image
Venture of the Infinite Man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
I Couldn't Even Imagine That They Would Kill Us
An Oral History of the Attacks Against the Students of Ayotzinapa
John Gibler
Harrowing personal narratives describing how Mexican authorities disappeared, killed, and injured scores of students and others in a still-unsolved crime.



1 2 >>>