Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Caitlyn
  |  Cassie
  |  Chris
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emmitt
  |  Garrett
  |  Greg
  |  Ivy
  |  Jared
  |  Jeff
  |  Lawrence
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Scott
  |  Stacey
  |  Tân
  |  Vanessa

   
<<< 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >>>
    sort list by title | author | publication date


Product image
What About This
Collected Poems of Frank Stanford
Frank Stanford
This book couldn't have reached me soon enough. Many of us devoted Frank Stanford fans have been waiting for this book for many, many years. It is comprised of both published and unpublished poems, and for the exception of a few reissued books, I would say that 75% of these poems have been practically impossible to get a hold of.
Product image
I Learn from Children
An Adventure in Progressive Education
Caroline Pratt
"A lucid presentation of what progressive education can accomplish."—The New York Times How should schools prepare students for the Information Age? The successful worker of the future – a creative, independent thinker who works well in teams—would seem to be too self-contradictory to be the deliberate product of a school.
Product image
Drugged
The Science and Culture Behind Psychotropic Drugs
Richard J. Miller
"Morphine," writes Richard J. Miller, "is the most significant chemical substance mankind has ever encountered." So ancient that remains of poppies have been found in Neolithic tombs, it is the most effective drug ever discovered for treating pain. "Whatever advances are made in medicine," Miller adds, "nothing could really be more...
Product image
Trout Fishing in America, The Pill versus The Springhill Mine Disaster, and In Watermelon Sugar
Richard Brautigan
This book and everything else by Brautigan are worth reading and rereading. Having influenced writers such as Haruki Murakami and Tom Robbins, his comic perplexed thoughts of romance intermingle with his dying, insane black comedy, and the ghosts living inside our coffee cups. —Recommended by Don, City Lights Books
Product image
The Animals
A Novel
Christian Kiefer
For fans of Denis Johnson and Peter Matthiessen, a literary thriller from one of the most exciting new voices in American fiction. Bill Reed manages a wildlife sanctuary in rural Idaho, caring for injured animals—raptors, a wolf, and his beloved bear, Majer, among them—that are unable to survive in the wild.
Product image
Ongoingness
The End of a Diary
Sarah Manguso
A strange thing happened when I finished this book: I realized I could not really remember what words had been said, but instead the deep sensations I felt while reading. This is a hypnotic exploration of time and memory that evokes much but prescribes little (and that's a good thing). —Recommended by Vanessa, City Lights Books
Product image
Bluets
Maggie Nelson
A perfect collection of fragments; a chronicle of an obsession that will obsess you, too. —Recommended by Vanessa, City Lights Books
Product image
Euphoria
A Novel
Lily King
From New England Book Award winner Lily King comes a breathtaking novel about three young anthropologists of the '30's caught in a passionate love triangle that threatens their bonds, their careers, and, ultimately, their lives. English anthropologist Andrew Bankson has been alone in the field for several years, studying the Kiona river tribe...
Product image
Boy, Snow, Bird
A Novel
Helen Oyeyemi
Named one of 2014's most anticipated books by CNN, The Huffington Post, Bookpage, Time.com, The Chicago Tribune, Vulture, Philadelphia Inquirer, Real Simple, The Millions and Flavorwire From the prizewinning author of Mr. Fox, the Snow White fairy tale brilliantly recast as a story of family secrets, race, beauty, and vanity.
Product image
Glory Goes and Gets Some
Stories
Emily Carter
Something happened when I was reading this. I was at a party and Emily Carter was there and she told a story. It was great and the party went on. I got home around 3am and found that all my clothes were on inside out. socks, underwear, everything. Somehow I didn't freak out. I went to bed. And then in that warm sinking moment of falling asleep...
Product image
White City, Black City
Architecture and War in Tel Aviv and Jaffa
Sharon Rotbard
A compelling case study of cultural hegemony: the colonizer versus the colonized. Important. —Recommended by Jeff, City Lights Books
Product image
The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven
20th Anniversary Edition
Sherman Alexie
This is a great start to the Alexie oeuvre: a collection of interconnected stories of native American life on and around a reservation near Spokane. Humorous, surreal imagery; poetic storytelling. You can't go wrong with any Sherman Alexie! —Recommended by Don, City Lights Books
Product image
In the Light of What We Know
A Novel
Zia Haider Rahman
A bold, epic debut novel set during the war and financial crisis that defined the beginning of our century One September morning in 2008, an investment banker approaching forty, his career in collapse and his marriage unraveling, receives a surprise visitor at his West London townhouse. In the disheveled figure of a South Asian male carrying a...
Product image
Ghettoside
A True Story of Murder in America
Jill Leovy
"Ghettoside is fantastic. It does what the best narrative nonfiction does: It transcends its subject by taking one person's journey and making it all our journeys. That's what makes this not just a gritty, heart-wrenching, and telling book, but an important one. From the patrol cop to the president, everyone needs to read this book."

<<< 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >>>