Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!

  |  Caitlyn
  |  Cassie
  |  Chris
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emmitt
  |  Garrett
  |  Ivy
  |  Jackson
  |  Jeff
  |  Lawrence
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Scott
  |  Stacey
  |  Tân
  |  Vanessa

<<< 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date

Product image
A Novel
Richard Ford
"First, I'll tell about the robbery our parents committed. Then about the murders, which happened later." Then fifteen-year-old Dell Parsons' parents rob a bank, his sense of normal life is forever altered. In an instant, this private cataclysm drives...
Product image
Atomik Aztex
Sesshu Foster
In the alternate universe of this glitteringly surreal first novel, the Aztecs rule, having conquered the European invaders. Zenzontli, Keeper of the House of Darkness, is visited by visions of a parallel world run by the Europeans, where consumerism...
Product image
Discipline & Punish
The Birth of the Prison
Michel Foucault
At the end of 2006, the United States had approximately 7.2 million people who were either incarcerated, on probation, or on parole. Our society's propensity for punishment and justice has manifested into the modern prison system, arguably...
Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustai
Product image
Stories of Almost Everyone
Eduardo Galeano
With Mirrors, the fabulist-historian Eduardo Galeano has produced a people's mythology of humanity. Teeming with indictments, hagiographies and impassioned reminders, this chronicle in anecdotes reveals the myriad reflections cast by every human face...
Product image
Fat City
A Novel
Leonard Gardner
Fat City is a vivid novel of allegiance and defeat, of the potent promise of the good life and the desperation and drink that waylay those whom it eludes. Stockton, California, is the setting: the Lido Gym, the Hotel Coma, Main Street lunchrooms and dingy bars, days like long twilights in houses obscured by untrimmed shrubs and black walnut trees.
Product image
All Involved
A Novel
Ryan Gattis
A propulsive and ambitious novel as electrifying as The Wire, from a writer hailed as the West Coast's Richard Price—a brutal and mesmerizing epic of crime and opportunity, race, revenge, and loyalty, set in the chaotic streets of South Central L.A. in the wake of one of the most notorious, incendiary, and racially charged trials of the 1990s...
Product image
Bad Feminist
Roxane Gay
I compulsively read Roxane Gay's Bad Feminist whenever I could get a spare moment. My commute (my life!) was vastly improved as it felt like my coolest, smartest, pop-culture literate, and humane friend was sharing the ride, offering the low down on--and a considered critique of--the too numerous troublesome aspects of American life and culture.
Product image
The Hungry Tide
A Novel
Amitav Ghosh
In search of a rare river dolphin in the Sundarban archipelago, a young Indian-American biologist enlists the help of a local fisherman and an urbane translator. In lush and undulating prose. . .
Product image
Sea of Poppies
Amitav Ghosh
Recommended by Paul, City Lights Books The first in an epic trilogy, Sea of Poppies is "a remarkably rich saga . . . which has plenty of action and adventure à la Dumas, but moments also of Tolstoyan penetration--and a drop or two of Dickensian...
Product image
To Die in Mexico
Dispatches from Inside the Drug War
John Gibler
On-the-ground reporting and behind-the-scene stories from Mexico's drug war by Mexico-based journalist, John Gibler.
Product image
Kibo and the Purple Dragon
Carmen Gil
One morning, a purple dragon flies in through Kibo's window. In fright, the little boy runs off to some truly extraordinary places, but when he returns home and looks in the mirror, the dragon is still there — and he's right behind him! This time, though, he’s a little more purple and a little bigger than the last time Kibo saw him.
Product image
Say Her Name
Francisco Goldman
For 20 years, Francisco Goldman has been one of the most profound and exuberant voices in the literature of the Americas. Goldman is the secret scribe whose influence can be discerned in a generation of writers that includes Junot Diaz and Daniel Alarcon.
Product image
A Guide to Philosophy in Six Hours and Fifteen Minutes
Witold Gombrowicz
Recommended by Paul, City Lights Books In this inspired book, the eminent Polish author Witold Gombrowicz reflects on seven great philosophers. He discusses Kant, Hegel, Schopenhauer, Kierkegaard, Sartre, and Heidegger in six "one-hour" essays...

<<< 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >>>