Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Chris
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Garrett
  |  Jackson
  |  Jeff
  |  Lawrence
  |  Layla
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Scott
  |  Stacey
  |  Tân
  |  Vanessa

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
Caught Inside
A Surfer's Year on the California Coast
Daniel Duane
A finely written and lyrical account of a year spent in the singular pursuit of surfing, punctuated with illuminating episodes on the literary history of surfing, the physics of wave formation, and the lure of the California coastline.
Product image
Confessions of a Teenage Jesus Jerk
Tony DuShane
Gabe is a teenage Jehovah's Witness convinced God will kill him at Armageddon for masturbating. But Gabe's not alone: there's Peter, who writes swear words in the margins of his papers; Jin, the Korean kid who subsists on Ho Hos and Doritos; and...
Product image
Why Marx Was Right
Terry Eagleton
n this combative, controversial book, Terry Eagleton takes issue with the prejudice that Marxism is dead and done with. Taking ten of the most common objections to Marxism—that it leads to political tyranny, that it reduces everything to the economic...
Product image
The Keep
Jennifer Egan
Prior to devouring every page of Jennifer Egan’s The Keep, I made the surreptitious decision to read, for the first time, Frankenstein and Dr Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Besides similar gothic settings, the books focus on the primal need to better understand...
Product image
A Hologram for the King
A Novel
Dave Eggers
A sharp, clear, wide-eyed account of a businessman's troubles renders the destructive impact of global capitalism on everyman/woman. Also, the novel offers a "how to definitely not" self-care for a large, angry cyst if found on one's own neck...
Product image
Invisible Man
Ralph Ellison
Sometimes we mean to read the great books, but we're too busy with what’s new and exciting. Invisible Man will make you wonder what current novel could possibly compete for your attention. This is a beautiful, brutal, and amazingly prescient work about...
Product image
Every Eye
Isobel English
Every Eye is a stunning discovery. Isobel English combines Woolf's observation of the hollows of English life, Austen's astute measuring of the game between the sexes, and an eye for detail that expands into a surreal poetry that is all her own.
Product image
Collected Stories of William Faulkner
William Faulkner
Though the volume may be imposing, the discrete stories in this collection each create and inhabit a world of life and feeling. Faulkner's craft is at its best in his short fiction, and if I had to take one book of Faulkner with me to a desert island...
Product image
Everything Is Illuminated
A Novel
Jonathan Safran Foer
With only a yellowing photograph in hand, a young man -- also named Jonathan Safran Foer -- sets out to find the woman who may or may not have saved his grandfather from the Nazis. Accompanied by an old man haunted by memories of the war; an amorous...
Product image
Ghost Moth
Michele Forbes
A beauty of a novel, Irish writer Michele Forbes delves deep into consequences of unrequited love. Brought to you by the enigmatic Bellevue Literary Press, a publishing house curiously based in NYC's infamous Bellevue Hospital. One of their previous books was Paul Harding's unforgettable Tinkers. — Recommended by Stacey, City Lights Books
Product image
Canada
A Novel
Richard Ford
"First, I'll tell about the robbery our parents committed. Then about the murders, which happened later." Then fifteen-year-old Dell Parsons' parents rob a bank, his sense of normal life is forever altered. In an instant, this private cataclysm drives...
Product image
Atomik Aztex
Sesshu Foster
In the alternate universe of this glitteringly surreal first novel, the Aztecs rule, having conquered the European invaders. Zenzontli, Keeper of the House of Darkness, is visited by visions of a parallel world run by the Europeans, where consumerism...
Product image
Discipline & Punish
The Birth of the Prison
Michel Foucault
At the end of 2006, the United States had approximately 7.2 million people who were either incarcerated, on probation, or on parole. Our society's propensity for punishment and justice has manifested into the modern prison system, arguably...
Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustai

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 >>>