Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Cassie
  |  Chris
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emmitt
  |  Garrett
  |  Jackson
  |  Jeff
  |  Lawrence
  |  Layla
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Scott
  |  Stacey
  |  Tân
  |  Vanessa

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
All the Light We Cannot See
A Novel
Anthony Doerr
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, a stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.
Product image
Geek Love
A Novel
Katherine Dunn
For people who enjoy people who are different and strange and wonderful and writing that is too. –Recommended by Maia, City Lights Books
Product image
Why Marx Was Right
Terry Eagleton
n this combative, controversial book, Terry Eagleton takes issue with the prejudice that Marxism is dead and done with. Taking ten of the most common objections to Marxism—that it leads to political tyranny, that it reduces everything to the economic...
Product image
A Hologram for the King
A Novel
Dave Eggers
A sharp, clear, wide-eyed account of a businessman's troubles renders the destructive impact of global capitalism on everyman/woman. Also, the novel offers a "how to definitely not" self-care for a large, angry cyst if found on one's own neck...
Product image
Invisible Man
A Novel
Ralph Ellison
Sometimes we mean to read the great books, but we're too busy with what's new and exciting. Invisible Man will make you wonder what current novel could possibly compete for your attention. This is a beautiful, brutal, and amazingly prescient work about...
Product image
Every Eye
Isobel English
Every Eye is a stunning discovery. Isobel English combines Woolf's observation of the hollows of English life, Austen's astute measuring of the game between the sexes, and an eye for detail that expands into a surreal poetry that is all her own.
Product image
Between the Woods and the Water
On Foot to Constantinople: From The Middle Danube to the Iron Gates
Patrick Leigh Fermor
In 1933, while Europe was drawing closer to WWII, the nineteen-year-old Fermor walked from Holland to Constantinople, and this is what he's written so far of the travelogue. The curious, adventuresome young man he was infuses this story with...
Product image
The Crimean War
A History
Orlando Figes
From "the great storyteller of modern Russian historians," (Financial Times) the definitive account of the forgotten war that shaped the modern age The Charge of the Light Brigade, Florence Nightingale—these are the enduring icons of the Crimean War.
Product image
Canada
A Novel
Richard Ford
"First, I'll tell about the robbery our parents committed. Then about the murders, which happened later." Then fifteen-year-old Dell Parsons' parents rob a bank, his sense of normal life is forever altered. In an instant, this private cataclysm drives...
Product image
Atomik Aztex
Sesshu Foster
In the alternate universe of this glitteringly surreal first novel, the Aztecs rule, having conquered the European invaders. Zenzontli, Keeper of the House of Darkness, is visited by visions of a parallel world run by the Europeans, where consumerism...
Product image
Discipline & Punish
The Birth of the Prison
Michel Foucault
At the end of 2006, the United States had approximately 7.2 million people who were either incarcerated, on probation, or on parole. Our society's propensity for punishment and justice has manifested into the modern prison system, arguably...
Product image
Satchel Paige's America
William Price Fox
This is a book not necessarily about baseball, but of the trials that Satch, the greatest pitcher of all time, went through to be accepted to the major league. It is like you are sitting at the table having a beer with him, laughing and crying at the...
Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustai
Product image
Mirrors
Stories of Almost Everyone
Eduardo Galeano
With Mirrors, the fabulist-historian Eduardo Galeano has produced a people's mythology of humanity. Teeming with indictments, hagiographies and impassioned reminders, this chronicle in anecdotes reveals the myriad reflections cast by every human face...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >>>