<<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>>
    sort list by author | publication date


Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustai
Product image
Open City
Teju Cole
Along the streets of Manhattan, a young Nigerian doctor doing his residency wanders aimlessly. The walks meet a need for Julius: they are a release from the tightly regulated mental environment of work, and they give him the opportunity to process...
Product image
Queer Beats
How the Beats Turned America on to Sex
Regina Marler
The writings that shocked America out of the 1950s. Blasting through the crew-cuts and conformism of their day, the Beat writers were queer in the fullest sense of the word: their fluid sexuality challenged all sexual and romantic conventions. Most...
Product image
Rules for Radicals
Saul Alinsky
How'd Obama do it? Read his playbook to find out. What Machiavelli's The Prince is for the oppressor, Rules for Radicals is for the oppressed. Required reading...
Product image
Say Her Name
Francisco Goldman
For 20 years, Francisco Goldman has been one of the most profound and exuberant voices in the literature of the Americas. Goldman is the secret scribe whose influence can be discerned in a generation of writers that includes Junot Diaz and Daniel Alarcon.
Product image
Sea of Poppies
Amitav Ghosh
Recommended by Paul, City Lights Books The first in an epic trilogy, Sea of Poppies is "a remarkably rich saga . . . which has plenty of action and adventure à la Dumas, but moments also of Tolstoyan penetration--and a drop or two of Dickensian...
Product image
The Shock Doctrine
The Rise of Disaster Capitalism
Naomi Klein
At the core of Klein's book is the use of cataclysmic events to advance radical privatization, combined withy the privatization of the disaster response itself. Klein argues that by capitalizing on crises, the "disaster capitalism complex" now exists...
Product image
Sightseeing
A Novel
Rattawut Lapcharoensap
One of the most widely reviewed debuts of the year, Sightseeing is a masterful story collection by an award-winning young author. Set in contemporary Thailand, these are generous, radiant tales of family bonds, youthful romance, generational conflicts...
Product image
The Sunken Cathedral
A Novel
Prose that refracts, that conjures the twisting paths of memories, that engulfs and soothes. Sad, lovely, and difficult to put down.—Recommended by Vanessa, City Lights Books Also recommended by Paul, City Lights Books
Product image
The Sympathizer
A Novel
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Cracks the veneer. —Recommended by Tân, City Lights Books. Also recommended by Peter, Paul & Andy, City Lights Books
Product image
Thelonious Monk
The Life and Times of an American Original
Robin D.G. Kelley
Thelonious Monk is the critically acclaimed, gripping saga of an artist's struggle to "make it" without compromising his musical vision. It is a story that, like its subject, reflects the tidal ebbs and flows of American history in the twentieth...
Product image
We the Animals
Justin Torres
An exquisite, blistering debut novel. Three brothers tear their way through childhood— smashing tomatoes all over each other, building kites from trash, hiding out when their parents do battle, tiptoeing around the house as their mother sleeps off...
Product image
Who We Be
The Colorization of America
Jeff Chang
Race. A four-letter word. The greatest social divide in American life, a half-century ago and today. During that time, the U.S. has seen the most dramatic demographic and cultural shifts in its history, what can be called the colorization of America. But the same nation that elected its first Black president on a wave of hope...
Product image
Why Marx Was Right
Terry Eagleton
n this combative, controversial book, Terry Eagleton takes issue with the prejudice that Marxism is dead and done with. Taking ten of the most common objections to Marxism—that it leads to political tyranny, that it reduces everything to the economic...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>>