Staff Recommendations

A listing of current favorites, recommended by the bookstore staff. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Anah
  |  Andy
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Elaine Kahn
  |  Garrett
  |  Gent
  |  Jackson
  |  Jeff
  |  Lawrence
  |  Layla
  |  Linda
  |  Matt
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Scott
  |  Stacey
  |  Tân
  |  Vanessa

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
A Hologram for the King
A Novel
Dave Eggers
A sharp, clear, wide-eyed account of a businessman's troubles renders the destructive impact of global capitalism on everyman/woman. Also, the novel offers a "how to definitely not" self-care for a large, angry cyst if found on one's own neck...
Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war. On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the..
Product image
The Infinite Tides
Christian Kiefer
An impressive debut novel from NorCal poet, songwriter and recording artist Kiefer, full of achingly beautiful passages on loss and regret, yet leavened with self-aware humor and with wonderment at the banality of contemporary suburbia.
Product image
Capital
A Novel
John Lanchester
From the best-selling author of The Debt to Pleasure, a sweeping social novel set at the height of the financial crisis. Celebrated novelist John Lanchester ("an elegant and wonderfully witty writer"—New York Times) returns with an epic novel that...
Product image
Rough-Hewn Land
A Geological Journey from California to the Rocky Mountains
Keith Heyer Meldahl
The astounding story of 100 million years of Western U.S. history. Accessible, informative, scholarly, yet compellingly written—don't miss this eye-opener of a geology book! —Recommended by Nancy, City Lights Books
Product image
The Blind Man's Garden
A Novel
Nadeem Aslam
The acclaimed author of The Wasted Vigil now gives us a searing, exquisitely written novel set in Pakistan and Afghanistan in the months following 9/11: a story of war, of one family's losses, and of the simplest, most enduring human impulses...
Product image
Astragal
A Novel
Albertine Sarrazin
When published in the 1960s this book made a star of its author, and it's not hard to see why. Sarrazin, a Morrocan orphan drawn to the low life, was referred to in the French press as the "female Genet." This is a romantic, desperate outlaw adventure...
Product image
The World Belongs to You
Riccardo Bozzi
The title of this first book from Bozzi and Zagnoli makes a sweeping promise, but there's ambivalence inside. Bozzi starts with the generous, eponymous declaration; it appears on a white page with a green circle on it. The second statement, "And you belong to the world," reverses the first—and reverses the image, too...
Product image
The Lost Art of Finding Our Way
John Edward Huth
Long before GPS, Google Earth, and global transit, humans traveled vast distances using only environmental clues and simple instruments. John Huth asks what is lost when modern technology substitutes for our innate capacity to find our way...
Product image
The Democracy Project
A History, a Crisis, a Movement
David Graeber
The Democracy Project is an interesting dialogue with Terry Eagleton's Why Marx Was Right, McKenzie Wark's A Hacker Manifesto and Eric Hobsbawm's How to Change the World. —Recommended by Paul, City Lights Books
Product image
Wild
From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Cheryl Strayed
We loved this book for many reasons. Cheryl Strayed is smart, introspective, bad-ass, and loves books. She proves to her readers that it's often only in hindsight that we take the time to carefully reflect on our lives, finally seeing the trail through...
Product image
The Flamethrowers
Rachel Kushner
Kushner's writing is authoritative and vivid, as exciting to read as the worlds she writes about. I could not put this down; it was intoxicating reading about a young woman making her way in worlds in which women don't usually get to exist, even in...
Product image
Speedboat
A Novel
Renata Adler
This reads like a walk through a particularly outrageous dinner party—overheard intellectual chatter, salacious gossip, and mundane offhand remarks swirl around, reigned in by a cool narrator who perhaps most evokes Didion at her driest, wit-wise.
Product image
There Once Lived a Girl Who Seduced Her Sister's Husband, and He Hanged Himself
Love Stories
Ludmilla Petrushevskaya
This woman's writing is fiercely raw and uninhibited, and I fell deeply in love with it as soon as I opened this book. Don't be fooled by the title. Sure, these fables are dark and gloomy. But they're also remarkably complex and mysterious...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >>>