Fiction

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Cantoras
A Novel
Carolina De Robertis
From the highly acclaimed, award-winning author of The Gods of Tango, a revolutionary novel about five wildly different women who, in the midst of the Uruguayan dictatorship, find one another as lovers, friends, and ultimately, family.
Product image
A Burning
A Novel
Megha Majumdar
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.
Product image
Alligator
& Other Stories
Dima Alzayat
A debut collection of award-winning short stories that explore race, identity, grief, trauma, and displacement with skill and compassion.
Product image
Quichotte
A Novel
Salman Rushdie
Shortlisted by the Man Booker Prize and named one of the best books of the year by Time and NPR, Salman Rushdie's take on the legend of Don Quixote is a modern classic.
Product image
Leading Men
A Novel
Christopher Castellani
An expansive yet intimate story of desire, artistic ambition, and fidelity, set in the glamorous literary and film circles of 1950s Italy.
Product image
Inland
A Novel
Téa Obreht
Recommended by Anna

"The Sixth Sense meets True Grit. The main characters are a tough old woman and a Middle Eastern cowboy. And there's a child obsessed with something called 'the beast'. What more could you want?"

Product image
Sansei & Sensibility
Stories
Karen Tei Yamashita
In these buoyant and inventive stories, Karen Tei Yamashita transfers classic tales across boundaries and questions what an inheritance--familial, cultural, emotional, artistic--really means.
Product image
The Old Drift
A Novel
Namwali Serpell
Recommended by Paul

A stunning debut novel and the winner of the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Ray Bradbury Prize, and longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize.

Product image
Reproduction
A Novel
Ian Williams
Reproduction tells a crooked love story in which love takes strange, winding paths and grows in a context shaped by community, family, longstanding friendships, and fleeting interactions that leave their mark on us forever.
Product image
Little Boy
A Novel
Lawrence Ferlinghetti
Recommended by Stacey

From the famed publisher and poet, author of the million-copy-selling collection A Coney Island of the Mind, his literary last will and testament -- part autobiography, part summing up, part Beat-inflected torrent of language and feeling, and all magical.

Product image
A Luminous Republic
Andrés Barba
A new novel from a Spanish literary star about the arrival of feral children to a tropical city in Argentina, and the quest to stop them from pulling the place into chaos.
Product image
Sabrina & Corina
Stories
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
Recommended by Josiah

A National Book Award Finalist. Latinas of Indigenous descent living in the American West take center stage in this haunting debut story collection--a powerful meditation on friendship, mothers and daughters, and the deep-rooted truths of our homelands.

Product image
Hurricane Season
A Novel
Fernanda Melchor
Admirers of Juan Rulfo, Amparo Davila, and Jose Revueltas will recognize the writing of Fernanda Melchor as continuing in a tradition of writers from Mexico whose themes are people living on the outskirts of urban life. Hurricane Season is a frightening and impossible book to put down. --recommended by Josiah
Product image
Dark Constellations
A Novel
Pola Oloixarac
Recommended by Josiah

Argentinian literary star Pola Oloixarac's visionary new novel races from the world of 19th-century science to an ultra-surveilled near future, exploring humanity's quest for knowledge and control, and leaping forward to the next steps in human evolution.


<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >>>