Fiction

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Grammatical Dreams
Green Integer 211
Murray Pomerance
Grammatical Dreams presents a series of luxuriant, twinkling, dream-like tales that might almost remind one of Scheherazade's One Thousand and One Nights.
Product image
Fleishman Is in Trouble
A Novel
Taffy Brodesser-Akner
A finely observed, timely exploration of marriage, divorce, and the bewildering dynamics of ambition from one of the most exciting writers working today.
Product image
Chances Are...
Richard Russo
The first novel in ten years from the Pulitzer Prize winning author of Nobody's Fool and Empire Falls.
Product image
The Ballad of Big Feeling
A Novel
Ari Braverman
A portrait of a woman stranded between her hometown and a new city, naivete and cynicism, welcoming togetherness and the nagging feeling of somehow being apart.
Product image
The Nickel Boys
A Novel
Colson Whitehead
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
Product image
A Drop of Patience
William Melvin Kelley
One of the great jazz novels of any era, A Drop of Patience tells the story of a blind horn player's journey through the themes of race, blindness, and music.
Product image
The Taste of Sugar
A Novel
Marisel Vera
Marisel Vera emerges as a major voice of contemporary fiction with a heart-wrenching novel set in Puerto Rico on the eve of the Spanish-American War.
Product image
The Summer Demands
Deborah Shapiro
Taking place over a single summer in an abandoned Massachusetts summer camp, this quietly menacing novel explores the sting of seduction, of unspoken female rage, and how desire and ambition shift over time.
Product image
Say Say Say
A Novel
Lila Savage
One of the The Wall Street Journal's 10 Best Fiction Books of 2019, now in paperback.
Product image
Pizza Girl
A Novel
Jean Kyoung Frazier
In the tradition of audacious and wryly funny novels like The Idiot and Convenience Store Woman comes the wildly original coming-of-age story of a pregnant pizza delivery girl who becomes obsessed with one of her customers.
Product image
Bunny
A Novel
Mona Awad
The Vegetarian meets Heathers in this darkly funny, seductively strange novel from the acclaimed author of 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl.
Product image
The Yield
A Novel
Tara June Winch
A young Australian woman searches for her grandfather's dictionary, the key to halting a mining company from destroying her family's home and ancestral land in this exquisitely written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful novel of culture, language, tradition, suffering, and empowerment in the tradition of Louise Erdrich, Sandra Cisneros, and Amy Harmon.
Product image
The Vanishing Half
A Novel
Brit Bennett
From The New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white.
Product image
Ornamental
Juan Cárdenas
Columbian writer Juan Cardenas first book to be translated into English is a moral and pharmaceutical fable for our times centered around a powerful and intoxicating drug that only affects women. Note; translator Lizzie Davis has done a masterful translation of Cardenas sparse beautiful prose. --recommended by Josiah

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >>>