Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Anna
  |  Caitlyn
  |  Chris C.
  |  Daven
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emma
  |  Garrett
  |  Greg
  |  Joel
  |  Josiah
  |  Lawrence
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Ryan
  |  Scott
  |  Solomon
  |  Stacey

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by title | author | publication date


Product image
Severance
Ling Ma
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: NPR * The New Yorker ("Books We Loved") * Elle * Marie Claire * Amazon Editors * The Paris Review (Staff Favorites) * Refinery29 * Bustle * Buzzfeed * BookPage * Bookish * Mental Floss * Chicago Review of Books ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Only Americans Burn in Hell
Jarett Kobek
Recommended by Daven
Product image
Blood Sisters
Kim Yideum
"This tightly-wound, exacting story is set during the late 80's, a time of student activism and suppression in Korea. Jeong Yeoul is unforgettable and mesmerizing as she navigates college life, gender norms, politics, and death."––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Becoming Beauvoir
A Life
A symbol of liberated womanhood, Simone de Beauvoir's unconventional relationships inspired and scandalized her generation. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
The Starless Sea
A Novel
Erin Morgenstern
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Year of the Monkey
Patti Smith
"Whether induced by dreams or reality, Patti Smith's keen observations—gleaned from her year's-long travelogue—applies a soothing balm on the chaos of our crazed political moment. In addition, her coffee habit also reassures me that I am not alone."––Recommended by Stacey
Product image
Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman
Bob Kaufman, Neeli Cherkovski, Raymond Foye, Tate Swindell
Collected for the first time, the complete surviving works of a major African-American Beat Surrealist poet. ––Recommended by Paul Yamazaki, head book buyer, City Lights Bookstore
Product image
The Water Dancer
A Novel
Ta-Nehisi Coates
From the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
Inland
A Novel
Téa Obreht
The bestselling author of The Tiger's Wife returns with "a bracingly epic and imaginatively mythic journey across the American West" ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
A Novel
Olga Tokarczuk
Drive Your Plow... may have more of a traditional structure than her last book, Flights, and thus be more accessible, yet it is deceptively clever and further cements Polish writer Tokarczuk's reputation as one of the best writers coming out of Europe in recent years.–Recommended by Christopher P.
Product image
Amateur
A Reckoning with Gender, Identity, and Masculinity
Thomas Page McBee
"Thomas Page McBee is this generation's essential and desperately needed voice on masculinity because he understands the crucial connection between power and trauma that constructs (and deconstructs) gender. This book is written with love and vulnerability about what literally makes a man fight."––Recommended by Chris C., City Lights Publishers
Product image
Doomstead Days
"I'm in awe of Brian Teare’s wonderful new book: Standing as threshold between our own capacity to discover natural wonders and the understanding of how it is all being destroyed (sometimes simply by our presence) is an extraordinary place to remain open to the world."––Recommended by Chris C., City Lights Publishers
Product image
A Visit from the Goon Squad
Jennifer Egan
NATIONAL BESTSELLER A New York Times Book Review Best BookOne of the Best Books of the Year: Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Daily Beast, The Miami Herald, The Minneapolis Star-Tribune, Newsday, NPR's On Point, O, the Oprah Magazine, People... ––Recommended by Anna

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>