New Hardcover Nonfiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
How to Kill a City
Gentrification, Inequality, and the Fight for the Neighborhood
Peter Moskowitz
A clarifying, nuanced look at one of the defining issues of our times. —Recommended by Ivy
Product image
The Usefulness of Useless Knowledge
Abraham Flexner
A short, provocative book about why "useless" science often leads to humanity's greatest technological breakthroughs A forty-year tightening of funding for scientific research has meant that resources are increasingly directed toward applied or practical outcomes, with the intent of creating products of immediate value.
Product image
The Revenge of Analog
Real Things and Why They Matter
David Sax
A funny thing happened on the way to the digital utopia. We've begun to fall back in love with the very analog goods and ideas the tech gurus insisted that we no longer needed. Businesses that once looked outdated, from film photography to brick-and-mortar retail, are now springing with new life. Notebooks, records, and stationery have become...
Product image
Literary Wonderlands
A Journey Through The Greatest Fictional Worlds Ever Created
Laura Miller
Nothing is better than a book about books. This is exquisitely curated and wonderfully illustrated. Here are the fictional landscapes of Wonderlands, from ancient myths to the computer age. For every book we are given an essay, its history, the original covers, and quotations and fun facts. —Recommended by Don, City Lights Books
Product image
Pure Solar World
Sun Ra and Afrofuturism
Paul Youngquist
The first book to thoroughly explore Sun Ra's vast and wondrous vision, both as cosmic philosopher and Afrocentric historian/mythologist. An essential voyage for Ra fans. —Recommended by Michael
Product image
The Hidden Life of Trees
What They Feel, How They Communicate—Discoveries from a Secret World
Peter Wohlleben
Are trees social beings? In this international bestseller, forester and author Peter Wohlleben convincingly makes the case that, yes, the forest is a social network. He draws on groundbreaking scientific discoveries to describe how trees are like human families.
Product image
Just Around Midnight
Rock and Roll and the Racial Imagination
Jack Hamilton
By the time Jimi Hendrix died in 1970, the idea of a black man playing lead guitar in a rock band seemed exotic. Yet a mere ten years earlier, Chuck Berry and Bo Diddley had stood among the most influential rock and roll performers. Why did rock and roll become "white"? Just around Midnight reveals the interplay of popular music and racial...
Product image
Shakespeare and Company, Paris
A History of the Rag & Bone Shop of the Heart
Krista Halverson
Our "sister" bookstore finally gets the biography it deserves. Exquisite and intimate, Krista Halverson brings together the stories of the many brilliant people involved with Shakespeare & Co. over its long and fruitful history. —Recommended by Stacey, City Lights Publishers
Product image
The Gilded Rage
A Wild Ride Through Donald Trump's America
Alexander Zaitchik
2016 continues to be the most surreal and unpredictable election year in recent memory and this is due in large part to one Donald J. Trump and the millions of Americans who made him this year's Republican nominee for president. As Trump continues to succeed despite behavior that would cripple any other politician, whether it is questioning...
Product image
Spooked
How the CIA Manipulates the Media and Hoodwinks Hollywood
Nicholas Schou
The American people depend on a free press to keep a close and impartial watch on the national security operations that are carried out in our name. But in many cases, this trust is sadly misplaced, as leading journalists are seduced and manipulated by the secretive agencies they cover.
Product image
Seven Brief Lessons on Physics
Carlo Rovelli
All the beauty of modern physics in seven short and enlightening lessons This playful, entertaining, and mind-bending introduction to modern physics briskly explains Einstein's general relativity, quantum mechanics, elementary particles, gravity, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, and the role humans play in this weird...
Product image
When Breath Becomes Air
Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
Product image
Writing Across the Landscape
Travel Journals 1960-2010
Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Giada Diano, Matthew Gleeson
This long-awaited volume provides a panoramic portrait of art and life across the twentieth century, from Mexico to Morocco, Paris to Rome, and beyond.
Product image
Between the World and Me
Ta-Nehisi Coates
This is a tremendous gift to the world. —Recommended by Tân, City Lights Books Also recommended by Scott & Paul, City Lights Books

<<< 1 2 3 >>>