New Hardcover Fiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193 or email us.

   
<<< 1 2 3 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Infinite Country
a novel
Patricia Engel
Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 from Esquire, O, The Oprah Magazine, Elle, GMA, New York Post, Ms. Magazine, The Millions, Electric Literature, LitHub, AARP, Refinery29, BuzzFeed, Autostraddle, She Reads, Alma, and more.
Product image
The Committed
a novel
Viet Thanh Nguyen
The sequel to The Sympathizer, which won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction and went on to sell over a million copies worldwide, The Committed tells the story of "the man of two minds" as he comes as a refugee to France and turns his hand to capitalism.
Product image
Hamnet
A Novel of the Plague
Maggie O'Farrell
England, 1580: The Black Death creeps across the land, an ever-present threat, infecting the healthy, the sick, the old and the young, alike. The end of days is near, but life always goes on.
Product image
Utopia Avenue
David Mitchell
The long-awaited new novel from the bestselling, prize-winning author of Cloud Atlas and The Bone Clocks.
Product image
Crooked Hallelujah
Kelli Jo Ford
Crooked Hallelujah tells the stories of Justine--a mixed-blood Cherokee woman-- and her daughter, Reney, as they move from Eastern Oklahoma's Indian Country in the hopes of starting a new, more stable life in Texas amid the oil bust of the 1980s...
Product image
Tokyo Ueno Station
A Novel
Miri Yu
Like flashes of scenery framed by the window of an express train, Zainichi Korean writer Yu Miri depicts the lives of the most vulnerable in present-day Japan with snapshots of deftness and feeling. A poetic, elegant condemnation of the imperial system as seen through the eyes of a ghostly observer --recommended by Anna
Product image
The Taste of Sugar
A Novel
Marisel Vera
Marisel Vera emerges as a major voice of contemporary fiction with a heart-wrenching novel set in Puerto Rico on the eve of the Spanish-American War.
Product image
POSTHUMOUS MEMOIRS OF BRAS CUBAS 'TR M J
Machado de Assis's classic novel, the precursor of Latin American fiction, is finally rendered as a stunningly relevant work for twenty-first-century readers.
Product image
Pizza Girl
A Novel
Jean Kyoung Frazier
In the tradition of audacious and wryly funny novels like The Idiot and Convenience Store Woman comes the wildly original coming-of-age story of a pregnant pizza delivery girl who becomes obsessed with one of her customers.
Product image
The Yield
A Novel
Tara June Winch
A young Australian woman searches for her grandfather's dictionary, the key to halting a mining company from destroying her family's home and ancestral land in this exquisitely written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful novel of culture, language, tradition, suffering, and empowerment in the tradition of Louise Erdrich, Sandra Cisneros, and Amy Harmon.
Product image
The Vanishing Half
A Novel
Brit Bennett
From The New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white.
Product image
A Burning
A Novel
Megha Majumdar
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.
Product image
Hurricane Season
A Novel
Fernanda Melchor
Admirers of Juan Rulfo, Amparo Davila, and Jose Revueltas will recognize the writing of Fernanda Melchor as continuing in a tradition of writers from Mexico whose themes are people living on the outskirts of urban life. Hurricane Season is a frightening and impossible book to put down. --recommended by Josiah
Product image
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
A Novel
Ocean Vuong
Recommended by Andy

"Written as a son's letter to his mother who cannot read, this novel is raw and achingly beautiful. Vuong's writing is both visceral and sublime with lines that will render you awestruck."


<<< 1 2 3 >>>