Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
The Book of Monelle
Marcel Schwob
A dark, haunted book by a man who was a secret literary influence on an astonishing number of great avante-garde writers. Schwob wrote this about, and for, a young girl of the streets whose death shattered him. He channels both the thunder of...
Product image
The Bridegroom Was a Dog
A Novel
Yoko Tawada
There is a surreal bawdiness that gives this strange little story the feel of an erotic folk tale. It's easy to get lost in the playful and mischievous world that Tawada develops. —Recommended by Luke, City Lights Books
Product image
LoveStar
A Novel
Andri Snaer Magnason
Andri Magnason's wild dystopia is a sadly recognizable world in which people become walking ads, "social media" in real life, droning brand name bargains at passers-by. Everyone is tapped, their actions quantified, and relationships calculated...
Product image
Selected Stories
Robert Walser
Walser's whole body of work is the outpouring of a rapturous and eccentric voice, one that speaks of the joys of the small, the aimless, the unrecognized, and the servile. This collection was my first introduction to Walser––from the miniature "The Job..
Product image
The Polish Boxer
Eduardo Halfon
This strange and beautiful book at the outset defies definition. It is neither a collection of short stories or a novel but rather a tapestry of loosely connected movements that, when taken together, compose something haunting and enigmatic...
Product image
Antwerp
Roberto Bolaño
This book is actually a labyrinth. —Recommended by Dia, City Lights Books. Antwerp's signature elements—crimes and campgrounds, drifters and poetry, sex and love, corrupt cops and misfits—mark this, his first novel, as pure Bolaño.
Product image
1Q84
3 Volume Boxed Set
Haruki Murakami
This deluxe three-volume paperback boxed set beautifully showcases Haruki Murakami's most ambitious novel yet, 1Q84—a love story, a mystery, a fantasy, a dystopia to rival George Orwell's.
Product image
Pataphysical Essays
René Daumal
Pataphysical Essays collects Daumal's overtly pataphysical writings from 1929 to 1941, from his landmark exposition on pataphysics and laughter to his late essay, "The Pataphysics of Ghosts." Daumal's "Treatise on Patagrams" offers the reader...
Product image
Austerlitz
10th Anniversary Edition
W. G. Sebald
This tenth anniversary edition of W. G. Sebald's celebrated masterpiece includes a new Introduction by acclaimed critic James Wood. Austerlitz is the story of a man's search for the answer to his life's central riddle. A small child when he comes to...
Product image
The Sextine Chapel
Hervé Le Tellier
An interconnected series of playful stories on the expected and unexpected pleasures of sexual intimacy. The delightful and daring English-language debut of French author Hervé le Tellier is a series of short, intimately interconnected stories making up a lively user's manual to pleasure, relating the various liaisons of couples from...
Product image
A Thousand Pearls
(For a Thousand Pennies)
Hervé Le Tellier
In the tradition of Joe Brainard's I Remember and Georges Perec's Je me souviens, this delightful "novel" offers a thousand answers to the question, "What are you thinking?" (Or, as translator Ian Monk puts it: “Penny for them?”) The answers are spontaneous, revealing, ominous, insignificant, grotesque, amusing, lecherous, tragic and trivial by...
Product image
The Perpetual Motion Machine
The Story of an Invention
Paul Scheerbart
In the last days of 1907, the German novelist and exponent of glass architecture Paul Scheerbart embarked upon an attempt to invent a perpetual motion machine. For the next two and a half years he would document his ongoing efforts (and failures) from...
Product image
The Elephant's Journey
José Saramago
In 1551, King João III of Portugal gave Archduke Maximilian an unusual wedding present: an elephant. Solomon the elephant and his keeper, Subhro, begin in dismal conditions, forgotten in a corner of the palace grounds. When it occurs to the king...
Product image
The Solitude of Prime Numbers
A Novel
Paolo Giordano
"Mesmerizing...an exquisite rendering of what one might call feels at the subatomic level." -The New York Times A prime number is a lonely thing. It can only be divided by itself or by one, and it never truly fits with another. Alice and Mattia are...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>