Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Tokyo Ueno Station
A Novel
Miri Yu
Like flashes of scenery framed by the window of an express train, Zainichi Korean writer Yu Miri depicts the lives of the most vulnerable in present-day Japan with snapshots of deftness and feeling. A poetic, elegant condemnation of the imperial system as seen through the eyes of a ghostly observer --recommended by Anna
Product image
POSTHUMOUS MEMOIRS OF BRAS CUBAS 'TR M J
Machado de Assis's classic novel, the precursor of Latin American fiction, is finally rendered as a stunningly relevant work for twenty-first-century readers.
Product image
The Yield
A Novel
Tara June Winch
A young Australian woman searches for her grandfather's dictionary, the key to halting a mining company from destroying her family's home and ancestral land in this exquisitely written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful novel of culture, language, tradition, suffering, and empowerment in the tradition of Louise Erdrich, Sandra Cisneros, and Amy Harmon.
Product image
To the Friend Who Did Not Save My Life
Hervé Guibert
A novel that describes, with devastating, darkly comic clarity, its narrator's experience of being diagnosed with AIDS.
Product image
The Parting Gift
A Novel
Evan Fallenberg
This erotic tale of jealousy, obsession, and revenge is suffused with the rich flavors and intoxicating scents of Israel's Mediterranean coast.
Product image
Ornamental
Juan Cárdenas
Columbian writer Juan Cardenas first book to be translated into English is a moral and pharmaceutical fable for our times centered around a powerful and intoxicating drug that only affects women. Note; translator Lizzie Davis has done a masterful translation of Cardenas sparse beautiful prose. --recommended by Josiah
Product image
Quichotte
A Novel
Salman Rushdie
Shortlisted by the Man Booker Prize and named one of the best books of the year by Time and NPR, Salman Rushdie's take on the legend of Don Quixote is a modern classic.
Product image
MINOR DETAIL
Examining those allowed and not allowed to walk freely under occupation in Palestine, Shibli constructs a choreography of violence's movement through time. A document of truth buried beneath genocidal rubble, the precision of this translation speaks to the urgency and importance of the written word. I am still thinking about this book. ---Ryan
Product image
Tropic of Violence
Nathacha Appanah
A potent novel about lost youth and migration by the author of The Last Brother and Waiting for Tomorrow.
Product image
The Old Drift
A Novel
Namwali Serpell
Recommended by Paul

A stunning debut novel and the winner of the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Ray Bradbury Prize, and longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize.

Product image
A Luminous Republic
Andrés Barba
A new novel from a Spanish literary star about the arrival of feral children to a tropical city in Argentina, and the quest to stop them from pulling the place into chaos.
Product image
The Book of Anna
A Novel
Carmen Boullosa
A polyphonic and subversive tale of the Russian revolution through the lens of Tolstoy's most beloved work.
Product image
Sabrina & Corina
Stories
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
Recommended by Josiah

A National Book Award Finalist. Latinas of Indigenous descent living in the American West take center stage in this haunting debut story collection--a powerful meditation on friendship, mothers and daughters, and the deep-rooted truths of our homelands.

Product image
Hurricane Season
A Novel
Fernanda Melchor
Admirers of Juan Rulfo, Amparo Davila, and Jose Revueltas will recognize the writing of Fernanda Melchor as continuing in a tradition of writers from Mexico whose themes are people living on the outskirts of urban life. Hurricane Season is a frightening and impossible book to put down. --recommended by Josiah

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>