Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
1Q84
Haruki Murakami
The year is 1984 and the city is Tokyo. A young woman named Aomame follows a taxi driver's enigmatic suggestion and begins to notice puzzling discrepancies in the world around her. She has entered, she realizes, a parallel existence...
Product image
The Bridegroom Was a Dog
A Novel
Yoko Tawada
There is a surreal bawdiness that gives this strange little story the feel of an erotic folk tale. It's easy to get lost in the playful and mischievous world that Tawada develops. —Recommended by Luke, City Lights Books
Product image
LoveStar
A Novel
Andri Snaer Magnason
Andri Magnason's wild dystopia is a sadly recognizable world in which people become walking ads, "social media" in real life, droning brand name bargains at passers-by. Everyone is tapped, their actions quantified, and relationships calculated...
Product image
The Polish Boxer
Eduardo Halfon
This strange and beautiful book at the outset defies definition. It is neither a collection of short stories or a novel but rather a tapestry of loosely connected movements that, when taken together, compose something haunting and enigmatic...
Product image
Antwerp
Roberto Bolaño
This book is actually a labyrinth. —Recommended by Dia, City Lights Books. Antwerp's signature elements—crimes and campgrounds, drifters and poetry, sex and love, corrupt cops and misfits—mark this, his first novel, as pure Bolaño.
Product image
1Q84
3 Volume Boxed Set
Haruki Murakami
This deluxe three-volume paperback boxed set beautifully showcases Haruki Murakami's most ambitious novel yet, 1Q84—a love story, a mystery, a fantasy, a dystopia to rival George Orwell's.
Product image
Manual of Painting and Calligraphy
José Saramago
Manual of Painting and Calligraphy was José Saramago's first novel. A must-have for any devotee of the great Portuguese Nobel laureate, Manual of Painting and Calligraphy is available in the United States for the first time.
Product image
The Sextine Chapel
Hervé Le Tellier
An interconnected series of playful stories on the expected and unexpected pleasures of sexual intimacy. The delightful and daring English-language debut of French author Hervé le Tellier is a series of short, intimately interconnected stories making up a lively user's manual to pleasure, relating the various liaisons of couples from...
Product image
A Thousand Pearls
(For a Thousand Pennies)
Hervé Le Tellier
In the tradition of Joe Brainard's I Remember and Georges Perec's Je me souviens, this delightful "novel" offers a thousand answers to the question, "What are you thinking?" (Or, as translator Ian Monk puts it: “Penny for them?”) The answers are spontaneous, revealing, ominous, insignificant, grotesque, amusing, lecherous, tragic and trivial by...
Product image
Dancing Lessons for the Advanced in Age
Bohumil Hrabal
Rake, drunkard, aesthete, gossip, raconteur extraordinaire: the narrator of Bohumil Hrabal's rambling, rambunctious masterpiece Dancing Lessons for the Advanced in Age is all these and more. Speaking to a group of sunbathing women who remind him of...
Product image
The Solitude of Prime Numbers
A Novel
Paolo Giordano
"Mesmerizing...an exquisite rendering of what one might call feels at the subatomic level." -The New York Times A prime number is a lonely thing. It can only be divided by itself or by one, and it never truly fits with another. Alice and Mattia are...
Product image
The Leg of Lamb
His Life and Works
Benjamin Péret
A foundational classic of Surrealist literature, The Leg of Lamb brings together the arch-Surrealist Benjamin Peret's short prose: a smorgasbord of automatic writing and fantastical narratives employing everything from the cinematic antics of Buster...
Product image
The Scale of Maps
Belén Gopegui
A novel and its protagonist create one another, in a tale strung between the work of Cervantes and Nabokov.
Product image
Desert
J. M. G. Le Clezio
The Swedish Academy, in awarding J.M.G. Le Clezio the 2008 Nobel Prize in Literature, praised Desert as Le Clezio's 'definitive breakthrough as a novelist.' Published in France in 1980, Desert received the Grand Prix Paul Morand from the Academie...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>