Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
The Clown
Heinrich Boll
Acclaimed entertainer Hans Schneir collapses when his beloved Marie leaves him because he won’t marry her within the Catholic Church. The desertion triggers a searing re-examination of his life—the loss of his sister during the war, the...
Product image
Collected Fictions
Jorge Luis Borges
Jorge Luis Borges has been called the greatest Spanish-language writer of our century. Now for the first time in English, all of Borges' dazzling fictions are gathered into a single volume, brilliantly translated by Andrew Hurley.
Product image
Ficciones
Jorge Luis Borges
The seventeen pieces in Ficciones demonstrate the gargantuan powers of imagination, intelligence, and style of one of the greatest writers of this or any other century. Borges sends us on a journey into a compelling, bizarre, and profoundly resonant...
Product image
Labyrinths
Selected Stories & Other Writings
Jorge Luis Borges
If Jorge Luis Borges had been a computer scientist, he probably would have invented hypertext and the World Wide Web. Instead, being a librarian and one of the world's most widely read people, he became the leading practitioner of a densely layered...
Product image
Walking Words
Jose Francisco Borges, Eduardo Galeano
Product image
Head Above Water
Stefano Bortolussi
Italian writer Cardo Maraini is a cauldron of contradictions. Plagued by guilt over the drowning of his younger brother, he is strangely terrified by life. When the Norwegian woman he loves becomes pregnant, he plunges into a comically disastrous...
Product image
Texas
The Great Theft
Carmen Boullosa
An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland.
Product image
Stories of Mr. Keuner
Bertolt Brecht
Bertolt Brecht's Stories of Mr. Keuner is a collection of fables, aphorisms, and comments on politics, everyday life, and exile. From 1930 til his death in 1956, Brecht penned these ironic portraits of his times as he was "changing countries more...
Product image
Nadja
Andre Breton
Originally published in France in 1928, Nadja is the first and perhaps best Surrealist romance ever written, a book which defined that movement's attitude toward everyday life.
Product image
Heart of a Dog
Mikhail Afanasevich Bulgakov
This early novella from Mikhail Bulgakov, published in 1925, already shows the surreal comic genius that later produced The Master and Margarita, the writer's masterpiece. A kind of Frankenstein parable, Heart of a Dog is the story of a stray dog that...
Product image
The Master and Margarita
Mikhail Bulgakov, Mirra Ginsburg
Suppressed in the Soviet Union for twenty-six years, Mikhail Bulgakov's masterpiece is an ironic parable of power and its corruption, good and evil, and human frailty and the strength of love.
Product image
The Master and Margarita
Mikhail Bulgakov
A literary sensation from its first publication, The Master and Margarita has become an astonishing publishing phenomenon in Russia and has been translated into more than twenty languages, and made into plays and films. Mikhail Bulgakov's novel is now...
Product image
White Guard
Mikhail Bulgakov, Evgeny Dobrenko, Marian Schwartz
White Guard, Mikhail Bulgakov’s semi-autobiographical first novel, is the story of the Turbin family in Kiev in 1918. Alexei, Elena, and Nikolka Turbin have just lost their mother—their father had died years before—and find themselves plunged into the...
Product image
The Baron in the Trees
Italo Calvino
Cosimo, a young eighteenth-century Italian nobleman, rebels by climbing into the trees to remain there for the rest of his life. He adapts efficiently to an arboreal existence and even has love affairs...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>