Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
The Shadows of Berlin
The Berlin Stories of Dovid Bergelson
Dovid Bergelson
Shadows of Berlin is, in part, a bleak chronicle of life in Europe growing ever more hostile at the edge of World War II, part mythic parable. Bergelson's stories-passionate, honest, dark and often hilarious-hint at the possibility of redemption even...
Product image
Extinction
A Novel
Thomas Bernhard
The last work of fiction by one of the twentieth century's greatest artists, Extinction is widely considered Thomas Bernhard’s magnum opus.  Franz-Josef Murau—the intellectual black sheep of a powerful Austrian land-owning family—lives in Rome in...
Product image
Los detectives salvajes (Spanish Edition)
Roberto Bolaño
"Una obra maestra". —The New Yorker   Arturo Belano y Ulises Lima, dos quijotes modernos, salen tras las huellas de Cesárea Tinajero, la misteriosa escritora desaparecida en México en los años posteriores a la revolución. Esa búsqueda —el viaje y sus...
Product image
The Skating Rink
Roberto Bolaño
A phenomenally unusual three-way murder...
Product image
The Aleph and Other Stories
Jorge Luis Borges
Full of philosophical puzzles and supernatural surprises, these stories contain some of Borges's most fully realized human characters. With uncanny insight he takes us inside the minds of an unrepentant Nazi, an imprisoned Mayan priest, fanatical...
Product image
Collected Fictions
Jorge Luis Borges
Jorge Luis Borges has been called the greatest Spanish-language writer of our century. Now for the first time in English, all of Borges' dazzling fictions are gathered into a single volume, brilliantly translated by Andrew Hurley.
Product image
Head Above Water
Stefano Bortolussi
Italian writer Cardo Maraini is a cauldron of contradictions. Plagued by guilt over the drowning of his younger brother, he is strangely terrified by life. When the Norwegian woman he loves becomes pregnant, he plunges into a comically disastrous...
Product image
Texas
The Great Theft
Carmen Boullosa
An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland.
Product image
Stories of Mr. Keuner
Bertolt Brecht
Bertolt Brecht's Stories of Mr. Keuner is a collection of fables, aphorisms, and comments on politics, everyday life, and exile. From 1930 til his death in 1956, Brecht penned these ironic portraits of his times as he was "changing countries more...
Product image
Communicating Vessels
André Breton
What Freud did for dreams, André Breton (1896-1966) does for despair: in its distortions he finds the marvelous, and through the marvelous the redemptive force of imagination. Originally published in 1932 in France, Les Vases communicants is an effort...
Product image
Heart of a Dog
Mikhail Afanasevich Bulgakov
This early novella from Mikhail Bulgakov, published in 1925, already shows the surreal comic genius that later produced The Master and Margarita, the writer's masterpiece. A kind of Frankenstein parable, Heart of a Dog is the story of a stray dog that...
Product image
The Master and Margarita
Mikhail Bulgakov, Mirra Ginsburg
Suppressed in the Soviet Union for twenty-six years, Mikhail Bulgakov's masterpiece is an ironic parable of power and its corruption, good and evil, and human frailty and the strength of love.
Product image
The Master and Margarita
Mikhail Bulgakov
Mikhail Bulgakov's devastating satire of Soviet life was written during the darkest period of Stalin's regime. Combining two distinct yet interwoven parts-one set in ancient Jerusalem, one in contemporary Moscow-the novel veers from moods of wild...
Product image
The Baron in the Trees
Italo Calvino
Cosimo, a young eighteenth-century Italian nobleman, rebels by climbing into the trees to remain there for the rest of his life. He adapts efficiently to an arboreal existence and even has love affairs...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>