Fiction

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
    sort list by author | publication date


Product image
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
A powerful, tender story of race and identity by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the award-winning author of Half of a Yellow Sun...
Product image
Los Angeles Stories
Ry Cooder
World-famous musician Ry Cooder publishes his first collection of stories.
Product image
Animal Farm
50th Anniversary Edition
George Orwell
A farm is taken over by its overworked, mistreated animals. With flaming idealism and stirring slogans, they set out to create a paradise of progress, justice, and equality...
Product image
The Animals
A Novel
Christian Kiefer
For fans of Denis Johnson and Peter Matthiessen, a literary thriller from one of the most exciting new voices in American fiction. Bill Reed manages a wildlife sanctuary in rural Idaho, caring for injured animals—raptors, a wolf, and his beloved bear, Majer, among them—that are unable to survive in the wild.
Product image
Annie Oakley's Girl
Rebecca Brown
"One of the freshest, most memorable story collections of my lifetime. And 'A Good Man,' one of the most important. Rarer than the newness, the wit, the vivid readability, is the deep caring understanding, the wholeness, the truth which...
Product image
Another City
Writing from Los Angeles
David L. Ulin
Stories, chronicles, and poems by both well-established and up-and-coming young writers about how it was to come to LA or what it was like to grow up there, about the ocean and the desert, the entertainment industry and earthquakes, riots and racism...
Product image
An Army of Lovers
Juliana Spahr, David Buuck
"An Army of Lovers explores the liminal spaces where cities and individuals come together and stand apart with strange, brainy grace."––Michelle Tea
Product image
Atet A.D.
Nathaniel Mackey
The letters in Atet A.D. span a seven-month period from shortly after Thelonious Monk's death to the former Mystic Horn Society's recording an album on John Coltrane's birthday. Written by composer and multi-instrumentalist N., this imaginative work...
Product image
Atomik Aztex
Sesshu Foster
In the alternate universe of this glitteringly surreal first novel, the Aztecs rule, having conquered the European invaders. Zenzontli, Keeper of the House of Darkness, is visited by visions of a parallel world run by the Europeans, where consumerism...
Product image
Atonement
A Novel
Ian McEwan
Ian McEwan’s symphonic novel of love and war, childhood and class, guilt and forgiveness provides all the satisfaction of a brilliant narrative and the provocation we have come to expect from this master of English prose.
Product image
Aureole
An Erotic Sequence
Carole Maso
Carole Maso's Aureole is a brilliant, fragmented, overtly sexual novel of an American woman coming to terms with her sexuality, her lesbianism and her erotic relationship to the world. Maso's early work like Ghost Dance were precise, sophisticated...
Product image
Baby Remember My Name
An Anthology of New Queer Girl Writing
Michelle Tea
Michelle Tea, a favorite on the spoken-word scene and beloved in literary circles for books such as Valencia, Chelsea Whistle and most recently Rose of No Man’s Land, has gathered new work by twenty-two of the most outstanding emerging voices in...
Product image
The Ballad of Black Tom
Victor LaValle
People move to New York looking for magic and nothing will convince them it isn't there. Charles Thomas Tester hustles to put food on the table, keep the roof over his father's head, from Harlem to Flushing Meadows to Red Hook. He knows what magic a suit can cast, the invisibility a guitar case can provide, and the curse written...
Product image
The Barbarian Nurseries
Héctor Tobar
A riveting tale of class, race, and social mores in contemporary Southern California. Araceli, the Mexican maid of the Torres-Thompson family, leads us on a Los Angeles odyssey that reveals the topography of a culture through Tobar's nuanced portrayal...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>