Staff Recommendations

A listing of current favorites, recommended by the bookstore staff. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Anah
  |  Andy
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Elaine Kahn
  |  Garrett
  |  Gent
  |  Jackson
  |  Jeff
  |  Lawrence
  |  Layla
  |  Linda
  |  Matt
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Scott
  |  Stacey
  |  Tân
  |  Vanessa

   
<<< 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 >>>
    sort list by author | publication date


Product image
The Natural Navigator
The Rediscovered Art of Letting Nature Be Your Guide
Tristan Gooley
Recommended by Paul, City Lights Books. Before GPS, before the compass, and even before cartography, humankind was navigating. A windswept tree, the depth of a puddle, or a trill of birdsong could point the way home—and, for the alert traveler...
Product image
Nazi Literature in the Americas
Roberto Bolaño
The book purports to be a biographical dictionary gathering 30 brief accounts of poets, novelists and editors (all fictional) who espouse fascist or extremely right-wing political views. While several meet violent ends, most are simply deluded...
Product image
The Nick Adams Stories
Ernest Hemingway
Written in the 1920s and 30s, these short stories follow protagonist Nick Adams and his family through periods of his life, his jobs, and the war, from his childhood on. One story was made into the classic 40s film noir The Killers. Adams' life runs...
Product image
NW
A Novel
Zadie Smith
Zadie Smith's new book is playful, psychogeographically rich, sometimes messy, dark, and has a wicked stiletto of an ending. Most of all, its subtleties hold up under the mulling over after you've finished reading it. A smart look at the complexities...
Product image
Old and Cold
Jim Nisbet
The new noir tour de force by the riveting Jim Nisbet. What's a guy to do, when he lives under a bridge and has an unshakeable thirst for martinis? kill for cash. so goes the logic at the heart of Old and Cold, leading to a spree of hits that are...
Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war. On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the..
Product image
Orange Sunshine
The Brotherhood of Eternal Love and Its Quest to Spread Peace, Love, and Acid to the World
Nicholas Schou
A startling, secret history of the "Hippie Mafia"—a group of surfer smugglers out of Laguna Beach who were responsible for the majority of the hash and LSD that literally fueled the psychedelic revolution. —Recommended by Andy, City Lights Books
Product image
Orfeo
A Novel
Richard Powers
The National Book Award–winning author of The Echo Maker delivers his most emotionally charged novel to date, inspired by the myth of Orpheus. "If Powers were an American writer of the nineteenth century…he'd probably be the Herman Melville of Moby-Dick. His picture is that big," wrote Margaret Atwood (New York Review of Books).
Product image
The Orphan Master's Son
Adam Johnson
An epic novel and a thrilling literary discovery, The Orphan Master's Son follows a young man's journey through the icy waters, dark tunnels, and eerie spy chambers of the world's most mysterious dictatorship, North Korea. Pak Jun Do is the haunted son..
Product image
Ottoline and the Yellow Cat
Chris Riddell
I can't say enough about this series. The stories are simple, engaging and emotionally-grounded. The characters are quirky and unforgettable. And much of the fun comes from discovering the odd little details in the wonderful illustrations. (For ages 7-10)
Product image
The Painted Bird
Jerzy Kosinski
This controversial novel shows the horrors of a young boy who goes into hiding, running from the atrocities of the Holocaust in the beginning of WW2. Deeply moving with sadness & violence, it's a book you’ll not soon forget.
Product image
The Passion
Jeanette Winterson
This book is a strange, inspired trip of love and lust. Perhaps the most unique thing about it besides Winterson's poetic voice is its universal, timeless quality though it is set in Napoleonic Europe. It is a great introduction...
Product image
The Phantom Tollbooth
Norton Juster
Recommended by Tân, City Lights Books. This ingenious fantasy centers around Milo, a bored ten-year-old who comes home to find a large toy tollbooth sitting in his room. Joining forces with a watchdog named Tock, Milo drives through the tollbooth's...
Product image
Pierre Reverdy
Pierre Reverdy, Mary Ann Caws
This is a well organized book of translations of French cubist poet, Pierre Reverdy. Just out from the NYRB Poets series, this collection has some of the usual suspects of Reverdy translation such as Kenneth Rexroth (now back in print here mind you) and Ron Padgett, but also some exciting translations by John Ashbery and Frank O'Hara...

<<< 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 >>>