Poetry, Poetry Criticism & Poetry Biography

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
<<< 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
Out of Print
City Lights Spotlight No. 14
Julien Poirier
Out of Print is a bicoastal surrealistic political poetry extravaganza.
Product image
Paroles
Pocket Poets Number 9
Jacques Prevert
Selected Poems
In the years immediately following World War II, Jacques Prevert spoke directly to and for the French who had come of age during the German Occupation. First published in 1946 by Les Editions de Minuit, a press with its origins in the Underground...
Product image
Citizen
An American Lyric
Claudia Rankine
So groundbreaking is Rankine's work that it's almost impossible to describe; suffice it to say that this is a poem that reads like an essay (or the other way around) — a piece of writing that invents a new form for itself, incorporating pictures, slogans, social commentary...
Product image
Red-Haired Android
Jeremy Reed
In England, Jeremy Reed has emerged from the obscurity of small presses through a string of books with Jonathan Cape at the heart of the British literary scene. Yet Jeremy Reed remains and outsider, working in an imaginative post-surreal area, breaking...
Product image
In the Sierra
Mountain Writings
Kenneth Rexroth, Kim Stanley Robinson
Nature writings by one of America's greatest poets, written out of a deep experience of the Sierras. Over the course of his life, Kenneth Rexroth wrote about the Sierra Nevada better than anyone. Progressive in terms of environmental ethics and...
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series: Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
Letters to a Young Poet
Rainer Maria Rilke
"…the love that consists in this: that two solitudes protect and border and greet each other." I think this book should be handed out to high school students along with free condoms and pamphlets on road safety. I think this book should be handed out...
Product image
Possibility of Being
A Selection of Poems
Rainer Maria Rilke
Product image
Illuminations
Arthur Rimbaud
"This may be the most beautiful book in the world, lighted from within and somehow embodying all forms of literature."―Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Product image
A Season in Hell & The Drunken Boat
Arthur Rimbaud
Rimbaud is the reason I fell madly in love with my inner turmoil, madness, and depressive state of being. His work embraces queer anguish in way that is unparalleled in its influence across countries and in the hearts of artists and writers for decades. This edition of A Season in Hell and The Drunken Boat, published by New Directions...
Product image
Barbaric Vast & Wild
A Gathering of Outside & Subterranean Poetry from Origins to Present: Poems for the Millennium
Jerome Rothenberg
Product image
My Private Property
Mary Ruefle
Marvelous prose poems inside! Colorful pinwheels of sadness (or happiness) spinning throughout, and the titular poem about shrunken heads—what more could a reader ask for? —Recommended by Cassie, City Lights Books
Product image
Robert Duncan in San Francisco
Michael Rumaker
A revealing portrait of a major poet of the SF Renaissance and a gripping account of late '50s gay life.
Product image
Destruction of the Jaguar
From the Books of Chilam Balam
Christopher Sawyer-Laucanno
Christopher Sawyer-Laucanno writes in his introduction to Destruction of the Jaguar that "The Books of Chilam Balam are the only principal surviving texts of the ancient Maya. Written in the Mayan language but in European script, they are generally...

<<< 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 >>>