Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
    sort list by author | publication date


Product image
The Sympathizer
A Novel
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Cracks the veneer. —Recommended by Tân, City Lights Books. Also recommended by Peter & Paul, City Lights Books
Product image
Tales from the Cuban Empire
Antonio José Ponte
In the manner of fabled storytellers, Ponte creates a vivid picture of contemporary Cuba-its real and imagined place in the world-through stories told by a foreign exchange physics student, urban planners who discover an underground metropolis in...
Product image
The Tanners
Robert Walser
Loosely based on his own life and his large family, The Tanners follows Simon Tanner as he wanders from job to job, in search of a calling. Along his journey of self-definition, we meet his other siblings: the painter brother whose romantic brooding...
Product image
Texas
The Great Theft
Carmen Boullosa
An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland.
Product image
A Time for Everything
Karl Knausgaard
“The writing glows with an intense awareness of the here and now, and loving observations of landscapes and objects...this is an extraordinary novel, and completely original.”—The Independent “The most original and promising Norwegian writer of his...
Product image
Ubu Roi
Alfred Jarry
A stunning, controversial work that immediately outraged audiences with its scatological references during the 1896 premiere, Ubu Roi satirizes the tendency of the successful bourgeois to abuse his authority and become irresponsibly...
Product image
Veils
Short Stories
Nahid Rachlin
The ten stories in Veils take place in present-day Iran or in the United States where Iranian immigrants face alien ways. Teheran's ancient Ghanat Abad Avenue, with its labyrinth of narrow streets and alleys, loosely links the stories into a single...
Product image
Vertigo
W. G. Sebald
Vertigo is the third novel New Directions has published by W.G. Sebald, one of the most enormously acclaimed European writers of our time. Vertigo, W.G. Sebald's first novel, never before translated into English, is perhaps his most amazing and...
Product image
Voices of Time
A Life in Stories
Eduardo Galeano
In this kaleidoscope of reflections, renowned South American author Eduardo Galeano ranges widely, from childhood to love, music, plants, fear, indignity, and indignation. In the signal style of his bestselling Memory of Fire trilogy--brief fragments...
Product image
Walking Words
Jose Francisco Borges, Eduardo Galeano
Product image
War & War
László Krasznahorkai
A novel of awesome beauty and power by the Hungarian master, László Krasznahorkai. Winner of a 2005 PEN Translation Fund Award. War and War, László Krasznahorkai's second novel in English from New Directions, begins at a point of danger: on a dark...
Product image
White Guard
Mikhail Bulgakov, Evgeny Dobrenko, Marian Schwartz
White Guard, Mikhail Bulgakov’s semi-autobiographical first novel, is the story of the Turbin family in Kiev in 1918. Alexei, Elena, and Nikolka Turbin have just lost their mother—their father had died years before—and find themselves plunged into the...
Product image
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
A Novel
Haruki Murakami
Japan's most highly regarded novelist now vaults into the first ranks of international fiction writers with this heroically imaginative novel, which is at once a detective story, an account of a disintegrating marriage, and an excavation of the buried...

<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11