Fiction

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
<<< 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
West of Rome
John Fante
Product image
Nochita
Dia Felix
A poetic debut novel, formally experimental, by turns hallucinatory, darkly funny and brutally real. Nochita is tender, fierce, and unforgettable.
Product image
A Corner of the World
Mylene Fernández-Pintado
Hot off the press! In contemporary Havana, "Do I stay or do I go?" is always the question, and love doesn't necessarily conquer all.
Product image
The Great Gatsby
F. Scott Fitzgerald
Product image
Everything Is Illuminated
A Novel
Jonathan Safran Foer
With only a yellowing photograph in hand, a young man -- also named Jonathan Safran Foer -- sets out to find the woman who may or may not have saved his grandfather from the Nazis. Accompanied by an old man haunted by memories of the war; an amorous...
Product image
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
A Novel
Jonathan Safran Foer
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close has been one of the most discussed, acclaimed, and debated novels in recent memory. And with good reasonas the Atlanta Journal-Constitution noted, "Jonathan Safran Foer has done something both masterful and...
Product image
Ghost Moth
Michele Forbes
A beauty of a novel, Irish writer Michele Forbes delves deep into consequences of unrequited love. Brought to you by the enigmatic Bellevue Literary Press, a publishing house curiously based in NYC's infamous Bellevue Hospital. One of their previous books was Paul Harding's unforgettable Tinkers. — Recommended by Stacey, City Lights Books
Product image
Canada
A Novel
Richard Ford
"First, I'll tell about the robbery our parents committed. Then about the murders, which happened later." Then fifteen-year-old Dell Parsons' parents rob a bank, his sense of normal life is forever altered. In an instant, this private cataclysm drives...
Product image
Atomik Aztex
Sesshu Foster
In the alternate universe of this glitteringly surreal first novel, the Aztecs rule, having conquered the European invaders. Zenzontli, Keeper of the House of Darkness, is visited by visions of a parallel world run by the Europeans, where consumerism...
Product image
The Unknown Poe
An Anthology of Fugitive Writings
Edgar Allan Poe, Raymond Foye
An indispensable anthology of brilliant hard-to-find writings by Poe on poetry, the imagination, humor, and the sublime which adds a new dimension to his stature as a speculative thinker and philosopher. Essays (in translation) by Charles Baudelaire...
Product image
The Corrections
A Novel
Jonathan Franzen
Winner of the National Book Award After almost fifty years as a wife and mother, Enid Lambert is ready to have some fun. Unfortunately, her husband, Alfred, is losing his sanity to Parkinson's disease, and their children have long since flown the...
Product image
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman
In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustai
Product image
Distance No Object
Stories
Gloria Frym
Gloria Frym turns her ironic, passionate gaze to 1990s post-Vietnam Berkeley and San Francisco."Frym turns an unflinching eye on human interaction, capturing casual and intimate exchanges between strangers on trains, estranged husbands and wives, and...

<<< 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 >>>