Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Anna
  |  Caitlyn
  |  Chris C.
  |  Daven
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emma
  |  Garrett
  |  Greg
  |  Joel
  |  Josiah
  |  Lawrence
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Ryan
  |  Scott
  |  Solomon
  |  Stacey

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
The Old Drift
A Novel
Namwali Serpell
A stunning debut novel and the winner of the for the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Ray Bradbury Prize, and longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize.
Product image
Correspondents
A Novel
Tim Murphy
From the author of Christodora
Product image
Lanny
A Novel
Max Porter
Longlisted for the 2019 Booker Prize. An entrancing new novel by the author of the prizewinning Grief Is the Thing with Feathers.
Product image
Little Boy
A Novel
Lawrence Ferlinghetti
From the famed publisher and poet, author of the million-copy-selling collection A Coney Island of the Mind, his literary last will and testament -- part autobiography, part summing up, part Beat-inflected torrent of language and feeling, and all magical.
Product image
Stony the Road
Reconstruction, White Supremacy, and the Rise of Jim Crow
Henry Louis Gates Jr.
A profound new rendering of the struggle by African-Americans for equality after the Civil War and the violent counter-revolution that resubjugated them, as seen through the prism of the war of images and ideas that have left an enduring racist stain on the American mind.
Product image
Sabrina & Corina
Stories
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST - Latinas of Indigenous descent living in the American West take center stage in this haunting debut story collection--a powerful meditation on friendship, mothers and daughters, and the deep-rooted truths of our homelands.
Product image
Native Country of the Heart
A Memoir
Cherríe Moraga
From the celebrated editor of This Bridge Called My Back, Cherríe Moraga charts her own coming-of-age alongside her mother's decline, and also tells the larger story of the Mexican American diaspora.
Product image
Dark Constellations
A Novel
Pola Oloixarac
Argentinian literary star Pola Oloixarac's visionary new novel races from the world of 19th-century science to an ultra-surveilled near future, exploring humanity's quest for knowledge and control, and leaping forward to the next steps in human evolution.
Product image
Dictionary of the Undoing
John Freeman
With an afterword by Valeria Luiselli, Dictionary of the Undoing is a necessary, resounding cri de coeur in defense of language, meaning, and our ability to imagine, describe, and build a better world. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
The Starless Sea
A Novel
Erin Morgenstern
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
In the Dream House
A Memoir
Carmen Maria Machado
In the Dream House is Carmen Maria Machado's engrossing and wildly innovative account of a relationship gone bad, and a bold dissection of the mechanisms and cultural representations of psychological abuse. ––Recommended by Stacey
Product image
Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman
Bob Kaufman, Neeli Cherkovski, Raymond Foye, Tate Swindell
Collected for the first time, the complete surviving works of a major African-American Beat Surrealist poet. ––Recommended by Paul Yamazaki, head book buyer, City Lights Bookstore
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Only Americans Burn in Hell
Jarett Kobek
Recommended by Daven

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>