Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Anna
  |  Caitlyn
  |  Chris C.
  |  Daven
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emma
  |  Garrett
  |  Greg
  |  Joel
  |  Josiah
  |  Lawrence
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Ryan
  |  Scott
  |  Solomon
  |  Stacey

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
America Is Not the Heart
A Novel
Named one of the best books of 2018 by NPR, Real Simple, Lit Hub, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Post, Kirkus Reviews, and The New York Public Library ––Recommended by Andy and Paul
Product image
Brightfellow
A Novel
A humid, shining, feverish gem. —Recommended by Vanessa, City Lights Books
Product image
Doomstead Days
"I'm in awe of Brian Teare’s wonderful new book: Standing as threshold between our own capacity to discover natural wonders and the understanding of how it is all being destroyed (sometimes simply by our presence) is an extraordinary place to remain open to the world."––Recommended by Chris C., City Lights Publishers
Product image
Ghosts of Gold Mountain
The Epic Story of the Chinese Who Built the Transcontinental Railroad
A groundbreaking, breathtaking history of the Chinese workers who built the Transcontinental Railroad, helping to forge modern America only to disappear into the shadows of history until now. - Recommended by Paul
Product image
The Last Werewolf
A Novel
Meet Jake. A bit on the elderly side (he turns 201 in March), but otherwise in the pink of health. The nonstop sex and exercise he's still getting probably contribute to that, as does his diet: unusual amounts of flesh and blood (at least some from friends and relatives). Jake, of course, is a werewolf, and with the death of his colleague...
Product image
The Mirror Thief
A Novel
Seay's debut novel is a true delight, a big, beautiful cabinet of wonders that is by turns an ominous modern thriller, a supernatural mystery, and an enchanting historical adventure story." Set in three cities in three eras.—Recommended by Andy
Product image
My Favorite Thing is Monsters
A young girl befriends monsters, real and imagined, in this unhinged and singular coming-of-age story. —Recommended by Stacey
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Trick Mirror
Reflections on Self-Delusion
From The New Yorker's beloved cultural critic comes a bold, unflinching collection of essays about self-deception, examining everything from scammer culture to reality television. - Recommended by Emma
Product image
Go Ahead in the Rain
Notes to a Tribe Called Quest
Hanif Abdurraqib
The first chronicle of A Tribe Called Quest—the visionary, award-winning group whose jazz-infused records and socially conscious lyrics revolutionized rap in the early 1990s. - Recommended by Michael
Product image
Bukowski in a Sundress
Confessions from a Writing Life
Kim Addonizio
Behold the memoir of sex-positive rebel Kim Addonizio! This book moves from gritty/funny/sexy, to emotionally raw, in swift seamless strokes. By the end, you will feel that Kim is an old friend whom you know far too well, but who you think the world of because she's way cooler than you are. —Recommended by Jared, City Lights Books
Product image
Mortal Trash
Poems
Kim Addonizio
Chew with your mouth closed and read this book.  —Recommended by Ryan
Product image
Pedro Pietri
Selected Poetry
Pedro Pietri, Pedro Lopez Adorno, Juan Flores
A compelling and humorous collection of poems by the poet laureate of the Nuyorican Poets. Includes previously unpublished works.
Product image
Internment
Samira Ahmed
Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens. ––Recommended by Caitlyn

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>