Staff Recommendations

A listing of staff proclivities, recommended by both past and present bookstore and publishing employees. Check back for new recommendations each month as we bring you the best of what we're reading or have read. Browse by title, author or staff member!



  Andy
  |  Anna
  |  Caitlyn
  |  Chris C.
  |  Daven
  |  Don
  |  Elaine
  |  Emma
  |  Garrett
  |  Greg
  |  Joel
  |  Josiah
  |  Lawrence
  |  Linda
  |  Michael
  |  Nancy
  |  Paul
  |  Peter
  |  Ryan
  |  Scott
  |  Solomon
  |  Stacey

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author | publication date


Product image
Lost Children Archive
Valeria Luiselli
Lost Children Archive is a novel about archiving all that we don't want to lose. Luiselli looks into the American present as well as its history: into Native American history, and the many intersections between American and Mexican history that are and have always been there. This is the perfect American road trip novel for right now. —Tommy Orange
Product image
In the Dream House
A Memoir
Carmen Maria Machado
In the Dream House is Carmen Maria Machado's engrossing and wildly innovative account of a relationship gone bad, and a bold dissection of the mechanisms and cultural representations of psychological abuse. ––Recommended by Stacey
Product image
Dictionary of the Undoing
John Freeman
With an afterword by Valeria Luiselli, Dictionary of the Undoing is a necessary, resounding cri de coeur in defense of language, meaning, and our ability to imagine, describe, and build a better world. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
I Just Ate My Friend
Heidi McKinnon
Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
Freeman's
The Best New Writing on California
John Freeman
Featuring work from Tommy Orange, Rabih Alameddine, Rachel Kushner, Mai Der Vang, Reyna Grande, and more, the sixth Freeman's brilliantly showcases some of the world’s best writers grappling with the myths and reality of California today. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
Axiomatic
Maria Tumarkin
A New Yorker Best Book of 2019, A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019 ––Recommended by Christopher P.
Product image
Severance
Ling Ma
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: NPR * The New Yorker ("Books We Loved") * Elle * Marie Claire * Amazon Editors * The Paris Review (Staff Favorites) * Refinery29 * Bustle * Buzzfeed * BookPage * Bookish * Mental Floss * Chicago Review of Books ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Only Americans Burn in Hell
Jarett Kobek
Recommended by Daven
Product image
Blood Sisters
Kim Yideum
"This tightly-wound, exacting story is set during the late 80's, a time of student activism and suppression in Korea. Jeong Yeoul is unforgettable and mesmerizing as she navigates college life, gender norms, politics, and death."––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Becoming Beauvoir
A Life
A symbol of liberated womanhood, Simone de Beauvoir's unconventional relationships inspired and scandalized her generation. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
The Starless Sea
A Novel
Erin Morgenstern
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Year of the Monkey
Patti Smith
"Whether induced by dreams or reality, Patti Smith's keen observations—gleaned from her year's-long travelogue—applies a soothing balm on the chaos of our crazed political moment. In addition, her coffee habit also reassures me that I am not alone."––Recommended by Stacey
Product image
Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman
Bob Kaufman, Neeli Cherkovski, Raymond Foye, Tate Swindell
Collected for the first time, the complete surviving works of a major African-American Beat Surrealist poet. ––Recommended by Paul Yamazaki, head book buyer, City Lights Bookstore

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>