Poetry, Poetry Criticism & Poetry Biography

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author

Product image
Matthew Dickman
Luminous and hypnotic, this dynamic collection explores the dark edges of childhood, violence, race, class, and masculinity, by one of the most fearless poets of his generation.
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series: Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
venture of the infinite man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!
Product image
Heaven Is All Goodbyes
Pocket Poets Series No. 61
Tongo Eisen-Martin
"This is resistance as sound."—Claudia Rankine
Product image
Why Poetry
Matthew Zapruder
An impassioned call for a return to reading poetry and an incisive argument for poetry's accessibility to all readers, by critically acclaimed poet Matthew Zapruder Zapruder takes on what it is that poetry—and poetry alone—can do. Zapruder argues that the way we have been taught to read poetry is the very thing that prevents us from enjoying it.
Product image
Good Stock Strange Blood
Dawn Lundy Martin
"Like you, I am unforgiving. It might be a perversion of my blood, inherited like sore." —Recommended by Jared
Product image
Mortal Trash
Kim Addonizio
Chew with your mouth closed and read this book.  —Recommended by Ryan
Product image
Nathaniel Tarn
Gondwana: an ancient supercontinent long-dispersed into fragments in the Southern Hemisphere. Contemplating this once-massive landmass at the the end of the world while looking out at the ethereal blue ice of Antarctica, Nathaniel Tarn writes: "They said back then / there was a frozen continent / in those high latitudes encircling the globe...
Product image
In Proprietary, Randall Mann critiques corporate culture, depicting (and slyly rebuking) the American materialism that erupted in the 1980s and has metastasized ever since. "Please consider / Ocean Beach / out of reach," he writes; in these poems, nothing is beyond the reach of his acuity.
Product image
Holy Ghost
City Lights Spotlight No. 15
David Brazil
Anarcho-socialism meets Christian mysticism in an Occupy veteran's avant-garde poems.
Product image
In Memory of an Angel
David Shapiro
The first full-length collection in fifteen years from New York School prodigy and master of lyrical abstraction David Shapiro.
Product image
Selected Poems
Clark Coolidge
Reading Clark Coolidge's poetry is an endlessly thrilling journey through your own mind, partly because he never does the same thing twice. His innovative early work has been extremely hard to find, until now! —Recommended by Chris
Product image
Selected Poems of Malcolm Lowry
Pocket Poets Series Number 17
Malcolm Lowry, Earle A. Birney
First collection of Lowry's poetic canon, including most of the Mexican verses related to his novel, Under the Volcano.
Product image
Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings
Joy Harjo
More than a book. More than poetry. These are the words.—Recommended by Ryan

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>