Poetry, Poetry Criticism & Poetry Biography

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
The Book of Training by Colonel Hap Thompson of Roanoake, VA, 1843
Percival Everett
Percival Everett's The Book of Training by Colonel Hap Thompson of Roanoke, VA, 1843, Annotated From the Library of John C. Calhoun, is poetry within the harsh confines of a mock historical document―a guidebook for the American slave owner.
Product image
Selected Poems
1950-2012
Adrienne Rich
Adrienne Rich was the singular voice of her generation, bringing discussions of gender, race, and class to the forefront of poetical discourse.
Product image
Nepantla
An Anthology Dedicated to Queer Poets of Color
Christopher Soto
Here are reasons to sing, to shiver, to cry, to snap, to bark, to love, to feel-- in resonance. Words to keep near your pillow, and to read on the train, and to keep on your tongue. EVERY POEM HERE IS GOOD. --Recommended by Jared, City Lights Booksellers
Product image
Deer Trails
San Francisco Poet Laureate Series No. 7
Kim Shuck
San Francisco's new poet laureate—a Native American and native San Franciscan—explores urban space and the natural world.
Product image
More Gone
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 18
Edmund Berrigan
From New York School scion and memoirist, a new book of poems considering domesticity in the heart of the city.
Product image
Arcana
A Stephen Jonas Reader
Stephen Jonas, Garrett Caples, Derek Fenner, David Rich, Joseph Torra
Stephen Jonas is a crucial missing piece of the postwar American poetry puzzle.
Product image
The Summer of Dead Birds
Ali Liebegott
A poet documents depression and grief in this autobiographical novel-in-verse.
Product image
What's in a Name?
Poems
Poems of effervescent grace from one of the best- known and best-loved poets of Portugal. - Recommended by Josiah
Product image
Grabbing Pussy
Karen Finley
In a breathless cascade of poetry and prose, celebrated performance artist Karen Finley here lays bare the psychosexual obsessions that have burst to the surface of today's American politics.
Product image
Time's Language
Selected Poems (1959-2018)
Margaret Randall
Time's Language contains powerful poems of witness as well as personal poems, and autobiographical prose pieces (that read like prose poems), recounting a life of resistance, the life of a life-long literary and political revolutionary.
Product image
The Mathematics of the Breath and the Way
On Writers and Writing
Charles Bukowski, David Stephen Calonne
A collection of columns, reviews, introductions, interviews, and previously uncollected stories revealing the method behind the madness and critical acumen of Charles Bukowski.
Product image
Cruel Futures
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 17
Carmen Giménez Smith
A Latina feminist State of the Union address at the intersection of pop culture and interiority.
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series: Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
venture of the infinite man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>