Poetry, Poetry Criticism & Poetry Biography

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Essential Essays
Culture, Politics, & the Art of Poetry
Adrienne Rich
Adrienne Rich was an award-winning poet, influential essayist, radical feminist, and major intellectual voice of her generation. Essential Essays gathers twenty-five of her most renowned essays into one volume, demonstrating the lasting brilliance of her voice, her prophetic vision, and her revolutionary views on social justice.
Product image
Nepantla
An Anthology Dedicated to Queer Poets of Color
Christopher Soto
Here are reasons to sing, to shiver, to cry, to snap, to bark, to love, to feel-- in resonance. Words to keep near your pillow, and to read on the train, and to keep on your tongue. EVERY POEM HERE IS GOOD. --Recommended by Jared, City Lights Booksellers
Product image
Time's Language
Selected Poems (1959-2018)
Margaret Randall
Time's Language contains powerful poems of witness as well as personal poems, and autobiographical prose pieces (that read like prose poems), recounting a life of resistance, the life of a life-long literary and political revolutionary.
Product image
Trickster Feminism
Anne Waldman
"There's a new Anne Waldman book and that's all I have to say. You better read it."––Recommended by Chris C., City Lights Publishers
Product image
The Mathematics of the Breath and the Way
On Writers and Writing
Charles Bukowski, David Stephen Calonne
A collection of columns, reviews, introductions, interviews, and previously uncollected stories revealing the method behind the madness and critical acumen of Charles Bukowski.
Product image
small siren
"This is a book of wonder and awe and strength. When the world goes down, I want to be in Alexandra Mattraw's boat." —Gillian Conoley
Product image
Cruel Futures
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 17
Carmen Giménez Smith
A Latina feminist State of the Union address at the intersection of pop culture and interiority.
Product image
Destruction of Man
Abraham Smith
Some say Abraham Smith's live readings are the best in America, except it's more accurate to say he howls rather than reads. So, better to call his readings hollerings, which often times might take place next to a tree. Listen to his howl via the flexi-disc included in DESTRUCTION OF MAN.
Product image
Wonderland
Poems
Matthew Dickman
Luminous and hypnotic, this dynamic collection explores the dark edges of childhood, violence, race, class, and masculinity, by one of the most fearless poets of his generation.
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series: Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
venture of the infinite man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!
Product image
Heaven Is All Goodbyes
Pocket Poets Series No. 61
Tongo Eisen-Martin
"This is resistance as sound."—Claudia Rankine
Product image
Do You Have a Band?
Poetry and Punk Rock in New York City
Daniel Kane
During the late 1960s, throughout the 1970s, and into the 1980s, New York City poets and musicians played together, published each other, and inspired one another to create groundbreaking art. In "Do You Have a Band?", Daniel Kane reads deeply across poetry and punk music to capture this compelling exchange.
Product image
Proprietary
Poems
In Proprietary, Randall Mann critiques corporate culture, depicting (and slyly rebuking) the American materialism that erupted in the 1980s and has metastasized ever since. "Please consider / Ocean Beach / out of reach," he writes; in these poems, nothing is beyond the reach of his acuity.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>