New Hardcover Nonfiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
1 2 3 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
Women & Power
A Manifesto
Mary Beard
At long last, Mary Beard addresses in one brave book the misogynists and trolls who mercilessly attack and demean women the world over, including, very often, Mary herself.
Product image
Between the World and Me
Ta-Nehisi Coates
This is a tremendous gift to the world. —Recommended by Tân, City Lights Books Also recommended by Scott & Paul, City Lights Books
Product image
We Were Eight Years in Power
An American Tragedy
Ta-Nehisi Coates
In this sweeping collection of new and selected essays, Ta-Nehisi Coates explores the tragic echoes of that history in our own time: the unprecedented election of a black president followed by a vicious backlash that fueled the election of the man Coates argues is America's "first white president."
Product image
Blind Spot
Teju Cole
Teju sees the world through a lens that captures the minutia of locale in fully intriguing ways—the way he articulates prose around these photos is completely immaculate. —Recommended by Jared
Product image
Writing Across the Landscape
Travel Journals 1960-2010
Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Giada Diano, Matthew Gleeson
This long-awaited volume provides a panoramic portrait of art and life across the twentieth century, from Mexico to Morocco, Paris to Rome, and beyond.
Product image
The Doomsday Machine
Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner
Daniel Ellsberg
From the legendary whistle-blower who revealed the Pentagon Papers, an eyewitness exposé of the dangers of America's Top Secret, seventy-year-long nuclear policy that--chillingly--continues to this day.
Product image
The Usefulness of Useless Knowledge
Abraham Flexner
A short, provocative book about why "useless" science often leads to humanity's greatest technological breakthroughs A forty-year tightening of funding for scientific research has meant that resources are increasingly directed toward applied or practical outcomes, with the intent of creating products of immediate value.
Product image
Atlas Obscura
An Explorer's Guide to the World's Hidden Wonders
Joshua Foer, Ella Morton, Dylan Thuras
It's time to get off the beaten path. Inspiring equal parts wonder and wanderlust, Atlas Obscura celebrates over 700 of the strangest and most curious places in the world. Talk about a bucket list: here are natural wonders—the dazzling glowworm caves in New Zealand, or a baobob tree in South Africa that's so large it has a pub inside where...
Product image
The Best Minds of My Generation
A Literary History of the BEATS
Allen Ginsberg
In 1977, twenty years after the publication of his landmark poem "Howl," Allen Ginsberg decided it was time to teach a course on the literary history of the Beat Generation. Through the creation of this course,Ginsberg saw an opportunity to present the history of Beat Literature in his own inimitable way.
Product image
Mingus Speaks
John F. Goodman
A sun speaks. At times promethean, hilarious, and vexing, this is Mingus as spontaneous combustion. The music is in his words.—Recommended by Scott, City Lights Books
Product image
Shakespeare and Company, Paris
A History of the Rag & Bone Shop of the Heart
Krista Halverson
Our "sister" bookstore finally gets the biography it deserves. Exquisite and intimate, Krista Halverson brings together the stories of the many brilliant people involved with Shakespeare & Co. over its long and fruitful history. —Recommended by Stacey, City Lights Publishers
Product image
Sapiens
A Brief History of Humankind
Yuval Noah Harari
From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity's creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be "human." One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth.
Product image
Who Killed Hunter S Thompson
An Inquiry into the Life & Death of the Master of Gonzo
Warren Hinckle
An inquiry into the life and death of the master of 'gonzo' - Hunter Thompson - with candid memories and appreciations by many of his closest friends and co-conspirators.
Product image
When Breath Becomes Air
Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

1 2 3 >>>