New Hardcover Fiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193 or email us.

   
1 2 >>>
    sort list by author | publication date


Product image
We That Are Young
A Novel
Preti Taneja
A stunning debut novel, a modern-day King Lear set in contemporary India: the tale of a battle for power within a turbulent family, for status within a nation in a constant state of transformation, and for the love and respect of a father disappearing into dementia. Recommended by Paul, City Lights Booksellers
Product image
Above Us the Milky Way
An Illuminated Alphabet
Fowzia Karimi
Above Us the Milky Way is a story about war, immigration, and the remarkable human capacity to create beauty out of horror.
Product image
The Anthill
A Novel
Julianne Pachico
A wildly original blend of social horror and razor sharp satire, The Anthill is a searing exploration of privilege, racism, and redemption in the Instagram age.
Product image
Braised Pork
An Yu
Beautiful, dreamlike, and utterly intoxicating, Braised Pork is the beguiling debut of an outstandingly talented young writer who is based in China but writes in English.
Product image
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
A Novel
Olga Tokarczuk
Drive Your Plow... may have more of a traditional structure than her last book, Flights, and thus be more accessible, yet it is deceptively clever and further cements Polish writer Tokarczuk's reputation as one of the best writers coming out of Europe in recent years.–Recommended by Christopher P.
Product image
Exhalation
Stories
Ted Chiang
Ted Chiang produces a short story so rarely, each tale is a celebration of exactitude. With an architect's eye for structure, the patience and temperament of a chemist, and a physicist's understanding of the order and chaos that underlines our world and our lives, these stories are each a carefully wrapped creation. -Daven & Christopher P
Product image
The Flame Alphabet
Ben Marcus
"Language kills in Marcus's audacious new work of fiction, a richly allusive look at a world transformed by a new form of illness . . . Biblical in its Old Testament sense of wrath, Marcus’s novel twists America’s quotidian existence into something...
Product image
Gods Without Men
Hari Kunzru
Jaz and Lisa Matharu are plunged into a surreal public hell after their son, Raj, vanishes during a family vacation in the California desert. However, the Mojave is a place of strange power, and before Raj reappears inexplicably unharmed...
Product image
Godshot
A Novel
Chelsea Bieker
Product image
Hurricane Season
A Novel
Fernanda Melchor
Like Roberto Bolano's 2666 or Faulkner's greatest novels, Hurricane Season takes place in a world filled with mythology and violence--real violence, the kind that seeps into the soil, poisoning everything around: it's a world that becomes more terrifying and more terrifyingly real the deeper you explore it.
Product image
Inland
A Novel
Téa Obreht
The bestselling author of The Tiger's Wife returns with "a bracingly epic and imaginatively mythic journey across the American West" ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Lost Children Archive
A Novel
Valeria Luiselli
Lost Children Archive is a novel about archiving all that we don't want to lose. Luiselli looks into the American present as well as its history: into Native American history, and the many intersections between American and Mexican history that are and have always been there. This is the perfect American road trip novel for right now. —Tommy Orange
Product image
My Mother's House
A Novel
For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors
Product image
The Nickel Boys
A Novel
Colson Whitehead
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.

1 2 >>>