New Hardcover Fiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193 or email us.

   
1 2 3 >>>
    sort list by author | publication date


Product image
Caretaker
Doon Arbus
A perfectly strange Autumn tale. --Recommended by Josiah
Product image
COLOR OF AIR
Daniel Abe, a young doctor in Chicago, is finally coming back to Hawai'i. He has his own reason for returning to his childhood home, but it is not to revisit the past, unlike his Uncle Koji. Koji lives with the memories of Daniel's mother, Mariko, the love of his life, and the scars of a life hard-lived.
Product image
The Dangers of Smoking in Bed: Stories
Mariana Enriquez
Top-notch, bone-chilling stories of death and undeath. A gothic unpeeling of how chauvinistic society runs by exploiting children and destroying women. This immensely beautiful, masterful writing makes the heaviest of subjects ghostly light, swirling like the last trail of cigarette smoke. --Recommended by Anna
Product image
Hades, Argentina: A Novel
Daniel Loedel
recommended by Paul
Product image
LAST GREAT ROAD BUM
In The Last Great Road Bum, Héctor Tobar turns the peripatetic true story of a naive son of Urbana, Illinois, who died fighting with guerrillas in El Salvador into the great American novel for our times.
Product image
LUSTER
An electrifying slow-burn charted by a young Black woman The narrative shines with dark humor as the protagonist wrestles with IBS, paints still lifes of cadavers, cosplays for Comic Con, and navigates an increasingly complex relationship with a married white man, his white wife, and their adopted Black daughter. ---recommended by Anna
Product image
Milk Blood Heat
Dantiel W Moniz
--Recommended by Paul
Product image
The Prophets
Robert Jones Jr.
--Recommended by Paul
Product image
SWORD & THE SPEAR: A NOVEL
Sands of the Emperor (2)
The second novel in the exhilarating Sands of the Emperor trilogy, following the Man Booker International Prize finalist Woman of the Ashes
Product image
A River Called Time
a novel
Courttia Newland
A monumental speculative fiction story of love, loyalty, politics, and conscience, set in parallel Londons.
Product image
Are You Enjoying?
stories
Mira Sethi
An exhilarating debut by a young writer from Pakistan: provocative, funny, disarmingly original stories that upend traditional notions of identity and family, and peer into the vulnerable workings of the human heart.
Product image
A Burning
A Novel
Megha Majumdar
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.
Product image
The Committed
a novel
Viet Thanh Nguyen
The sequel to The Sympathizer, which won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction and went on to sell over a million copies worldwide, The Committed tells the story of "the man of two minds" as he comes as a refugee to France and turns his hand to capitalism.
Product image
Crooked Hallelujah
Kelli Jo Ford
Crooked Hallelujah tells the stories of Justine--a mixed-blood Cherokee woman-- and her daughter, Reney, as they move from Eastern Oklahoma's Indian Country in the hopes of starting a new, more stable life in Texas amid the oil bust of the 1980s...

1 2 3 >>>