New Hardcover Fiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193 or email us.

   
1 2 >>>
    sort list by title | publication date


Product image
We That Are Young
A Novel
Preti Taneja
A stunning debut novel, a modern-day King Lear set in contemporary India: the tale of a battle for power within a turbulent family, for status within a nation in a constant state of transformation, and for the love and respect of a father disappearing into dementia. Recommended by Paul, City Lights Booksellers
Product image
Salt Slow
Recommended by Anna

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.

Product image
Godshot
A Novel
Chelsea Bieker
Possessed of an unstoppable plot and a brilliantly soulful voice, Godshot is a book of grit and humor and heart, a debut novel about female friendship and resilience, mother-loss and motherhood, and seeking salvation in unexpected places.
Product image
Exhalation
Stories
Ted Chiang
Ted Chiang produces a short story so rarely, each tale is a celebration of exactitude. With an architect's eye for structure, the patience and temperament of a chemist, and a physicist's understanding of the order and chaos that underlines our world and our lives, these stories are each a carefully wrapped creation. -Daven & Christopher P
Product image
Sabrina & Corina (Hardcover)
Stories
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
Recommended by Josiah

"Themes of abandonment, heritage and an eternal sense of home are at the heart of these stories about Latina Indigenous women who navigate their land of Denver, Colorado, the way they navigate their own lives; with cautious grace and a quiet enduring force."

Product image
Above Us the Milky Way
An Illuminated Alphabet
Fowzia Karimi
Above Us the Milky Way is a story about war, immigration, and the remarkable human capacity to create beauty out of horror.
Product image
Gods Without Men
Hari Kunzru
Jaz and Lisa Matharu are plunged into a surreal public hell after their son, Raj, vanishes during a family vacation in the California desert. However, the Mojave is a place of strange power, and before Raj reappears inexplicably unharmed...
Product image
Lost Children Archive
A Novel
Valeria Luiselli
Lost Children Archive is a novel about archiving all that we don't want to lose. Luiselli looks into the American present as well as its history: into Native American history, and the many intersections between American and Mexican history that are and have always been there. This is the perfect American road trip novel for right now. —Tommy Orange
Product image
The Flame Alphabet
Ben Marcus
"Language kills in Marcus's audacious new work of fiction, a richly allusive look at a world transformed by a new form of illness . . . Biblical in its Old Testament sense of wrath, Marcus’s novel twists America’s quotidian existence into something...
Product image
Strange Hotel
A Novel
Eimear McBride
From Eimear McBride, author of the award-winning A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing, comes the beguiling travelogue of a woman in exile: from her past, her ghosts, and herself.
Product image
Hurricane Season
A Novel
Fernanda Melchor
Like Roberto Bolano's 2666 or Faulkner's greatest novels, Hurricane Season takes place in a world filled with mythology and violence--real violence, the kind that seeps into the soil, poisoning everything around: it's a world that becomes more terrifying and more terrifyingly real the deeper you explore it.
Product image
My Mother's House
A Novel
Francesca Momplaisir
For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors
Product image
Inland
A Novel
Téa Obreht
Recommended by Anna

"The Sixth Sense meets True Grit. The main characters are a tough old woman and a Middle Eastern cowboy. And there's a child obsessed with something called 'the beast'. What more could you want?"

Product image
The Anthill
A Novel
Julianne Pachico
A wildly original blend of social horror and razor sharp satire, The Anthill is a searing exploration of privilege, racism, and redemption in the Instagram age.

1 2 >>>