New Hardcover Fiction
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193 or email us.

   
1 2 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
We That Are Young
A Novel
Preti Taneja
A stunning debut novel, a modern-day King Lear set in contemporary India: the tale of a battle for power within a turbulent family, for status within a nation in a constant state of transformation, and for the love and respect of a father disappearing into dementia. Recommended by Paul, City Lights Booksellers
Product image
The Starless Sea
A Novel
Erin Morgenstern
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
The Water Dancer
A Novel
Ta-Nehisi Coates
From the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
Inland
A Novel
Téa Obreht
The bestselling author of The Tiger's Wife returns with "a bracingly epic and imaginatively mythic journey across the American West" ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
A Novel
Olga Tokarczuk
Drive Your Plow... may have more of a traditional structure than her last book, Flights, and thus be more accessible, yet it is deceptively clever and further cements Polish writer Tokarczuk's reputation as one of the best writers coming out of Europe in recent years.–Recommended by Christopher P.
Product image
The Nickel Boys
A Novel
Colson Whitehead
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
Product image
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
A Novel
Ocean Vuong
Written as a son's letter to his mother who cannot read, this novel is raw and achingly beautiful. Vuong’s writing is both visceral and sublime with lines that will render you awestruck. – Andy
Product image
Exhalation
Stories
Ted Chiang
Ted Chiang produces a short story so rarely, each tale is a celebration of exactitude. With an architect's eye for structure, the patience and temperament of a chemist, and a physicist's understanding of the order and chaos that underlines our world and our lives, these stories are each a carefully wrapped creation. -Daven & Christopher P
Product image
Normal People
A Novel
Sally Rooney
"Fresh and accessible . . . There is so much to say about Rooney's fiction—in my experience, when people who've read her meet they tend to peel off into corners to talk."—Dwight Garner, The New York Times
Product image
The Parisian
A Novel
Isabella Hammad
A sublime debut novel by Plimpton Prize winner Isabella Hammad, The Parisian illuminates a pivotal period of Palestinian history through the journey and romances of one young man, from his studies in France during World War I to his return home to Palestine at the dawn of its battle for independence. - Recommended by Paul and Christopher P.
Product image
Sabrina & Corina
Stories
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
"Themes of abandonment, heritage and an eternal sense of home are at the heart of these stories about Latina Indigenous women who navigate their land of Denver, Colorado, the way they navigate their own lives; with cautious grace and a quiet enduring force."––Recommended by Josiah
Product image
Lost Children Archive
A novel
Valeria Luiselli
Lost Children Archive is a novel about archiving all that we don't want to lose. Luiselli looks into the American present as well as its history: into Native American history, and the many intersections between American and Mexican history that are and have always been there. This is the perfect American road trip novel for right now. —Tommy Orange
Product image
All That Is Evident Is Suspect
Readings from the Oulipo, 1963 - 2018
Daniel Levin Becker, Ian Monk
The first collection in English to offer a life-size picture of the famous Oulipo in its historical and contemporary incarnations, and the first in any language to represent all of its members (numbering 41 as of April 2018 ).

1 2 >>>