Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
I Didn't Talk
Translated by Adam Morris
Beatriz Bracher
The English-language debut of a master stylist: a compassionate but relentless novel about the long, dark harvest of Brazil's totalitarian rule.
Product image
The Story of the Lost Child
The Fourth and Final Neapolitan Novel
Elena Ferrante
"Nothing quite like this has ever been published before," proclaimed The Guardian newspaper about the Neapolitan Novels in 2014. Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, the third book in the series, was an international best seller and a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.
Product image
Miss Iceland
A Novel
Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir
The extraordinary new novel from Nordic Council Literature Prize-winning Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir, author of Hotel Silence.
Product image
Bluebeard's First Wife
Stories
Seong-Nan Ha
The second short story collection from the award-winning Korean author of Flowers of Mold.
Product image
People of the City
Cyprian Ekwensi
A vivid coming-of-age tale set in a Nigerian city about a young man trying to make his way as a journalist and band leader in the big city.
Product image
The Garden of Monsters
Lorenza Pieri
A rural epic about warring families in modern Italy and an intimate bildungsroman of the artist's journey.
Product image
Echo on the Bay
Masatsugu Ono
Echo on the Bay is a quiet, masterful epic by Masatsugu Ono, who was awarded the 152nd Akutagawa Prize, Japan's highest literary honor.
Product image
China Dream
Ma Jian
Blending fact and fiction, this darkly comic fable "may be the purest distillation yet of Mr. Ma's talent for probing the country's darkest corners and exposing what he regards as the Communist Party's moral failings" (Mike Ives, The New York Times).
Product image
The Yield
A Novel
Tara June Winch
A young Australian woman searches for her grandfather's dictionary, the key to halting a mining company from destroying her family's home and ancestral land in this exquisitely written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful novel of culture, language, tradition, suffering, and empowerment in the tradition of Louise Erdrich, Sandra Cisneros, and Amy Harmon.
Product image
To the Friend Who Did Not Save My Life
Hervé Guibert
A novel that describes, with devastating, darkly comic clarity, its narrator's experience of being diagnosed with AIDS.
Product image
The Parting Gift
A Novel
Evan Fallenberg
This erotic tale of jealousy, obsession, and revenge is suffused with the rich flavors and intoxicating scents of Israel's Mediterranean coast.
Product image
Ornamental
Juan Cárdenas
A genre-blurring English-language debut from one of Colombia's most exciting writers, who was named by the Hay Festival in Bogotá as one of the 39 best Latin American writers under the age of 39.
Product image
The Fallen
A Novel
Carlos Manuel Álvarez
A vibrant and meticulously constructed debut novel about familial and cultural breakdown.
Product image
Exciting Times
A Novel
Naoise Dolan
An intimate, bracingly intelligent debut novel about a millennial Irish expat who becomes entangled in a love triangle with a male banker and a female lawyer

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>