Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Harmada
João Gilberto Noll
Told using Noll's characteristic fragmented logic and spirited prose, Harmada traces the life of this nameless man on a voyage that takes him from aimless outcast to revered director of avant-garde theater, from asylum patient to father to God, conjuring the essential questions about the power of art and storytelling, the vanity of glory,
Product image
Still Life: A Novel
Zoë Wicomb
A stunningly original new novel exploring race, truth in authorship, and the legacy of past exploitation, from the Windham-Campbell lifetime achievement award winner
Product image
A Lover's Discourse
Xiaolu Guo
A Chinese woman moves from Beijing to London for a doctoral program―and to begin a new life―just as the Brexit campaign reaches a fever pitch. Isolated and lonely in a Britain increasingly hostile to foreigners, she meets a landscape architect and the two begin to build a life together.
Product image
SWORD & THE SPEAR: A NOVEL
Sands of the Emperor (2)
The second novel in the exhilarating Sands of the Emperor trilogy, following the Man Booker International Prize finalist Woman of the Ashes
Product image
LYING LIFE OF ADULTS
TRANSLATED BY ANN GOLDSTEIN
A POWERFUL NEW NOVEL set in a divided Naples by ELENA FERRANTE, the New York Times best-selling author of My Brilliant Friend and The Lost Daughter.
Product image
Bezoar
And Other Unsettling Stories
Guadalupe Nettel
Difficult habits are stronger than good intentions, and these chosen folks are captive to their complicated appetites. Under unfathomable shelter, those vanquished by their perversions seek redemption through Nettel's gallant glaring and guidance. -Recommended by Ryan
Product image
THE BITCH
This tiny novelita will hurt you, I promise. --recommended by Josiah
Product image
The Fallen
A Novel
Carlos Manuel Álvarez
Alvarez story of a modern Cuban family and their desperation and pains left me amazed. The details and deteroritions of each member of the family and their dependence on each other is a rhythmic, impossible to put down read. --RECOMMENDED BY JOSIAH
Product image
I Didn't Talk
Translated by Adam Morris
Beatriz Bracher
The English-language debut of a master stylist: a compassionate but relentless novel about the long, dark harvest of Brazil's totalitarian rule.
Product image
ZYZZYVA 119 ' LA ISSUE
Ed. Laura Cogan
ZYZZYVA closes out its year-long celebration of its 35th anniversary with the publication of Issue No. 119—the L.A. Issue.
Product image
10 Minutes 38 Seconds In This Strange World
Elif Shafak
A moving novel on the power of friendship in our darkest times, from internationally renowned writer and speaker Elif Shafak.
Product image
No Presents Please
Mumbai Stories
Jayant Kaikini
For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rohinton Mistry, as well as Lorrie Moore and George Saunders, here are stories on the pathos and comedy of small-town migrants struggling to build a life in the big city, with the dream world of Bollywood never far away.
Product image
This Could Have Become Ramayan Chamar's Tale
Two Anti-Novels
Subimal Misra
Subimal Misra--anarchist, activist, anti-establishment, experimental anti-writer--is one of India's greatest living writers. This collection of two "anti-novels" is the first of his works to appear in the U.S.
Product image
Mansour's Eyes
Ryad Girod
In this lyrical and ambitious novel, Ryad Girod looks at the post-Arab Spring world as its drive toward modernity threatens to sever its relationship with the ethos of Sufi thought and mysticism.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>