Fiction from Around the World
Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
SWORD & THE SPEAR: A NOVEL
Sands of the Emperor (2)
The second novel in the exhilarating Sands of the Emperor trilogy, following the Man Booker International Prize finalist Woman of the Ashes
Product image
LYING LIFE OF ADULTS
TRANSLATED BY ANN GOLDSTEIN
A POWERFUL NEW NOVEL set in a divided Naples by ELENA FERRANTE, the New York Times best-selling author of My Brilliant Friend and The Lost Daughter.
Product image
The Fallen
A Novel
Carlos Manuel Álvarez
Alvarez story of a modern Cuban family and their desperation and pains left me amazed. The details and deteroritions of each member of the family and their dependence on each other is a rhythmic, impossible to put down read. --RECOMMENDED BY JOSIAH
Product image
I Didn't Talk
Translated by Adam Morris
Beatriz Bracher
The English-language debut of a master stylist: a compassionate but relentless novel about the long, dark harvest of Brazil's totalitarian rule.
Product image
No Presents Please
Mumbai Stories
Jayant Kaikini
For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rohinton Mistry, as well as Lorrie Moore and George Saunders, here are stories on the pathos and comedy of small-town migrants struggling to build a life in the big city, with the dream world of Bollywood never far away.
Product image
This Could Have Become Ramayan Chamar's Tale
Two Anti-Novels
Subimal Misra
Subimal Misra--anarchist, activist, anti-establishment, experimental anti-writer--is one of India's greatest living writers. This collection of two "anti-novels" is the first of his works to appear in the U.S.
Product image
Natural History
A Novel
Carlos Fonseca
From Carlos Fonseca comes a dazzling, kaleidoscopic epic of art, politics, and hidden realities.
Product image
Mansour's Eyes
Ryad Girod
In this lyrical and ambitious novel, Ryad Girod looks at the post-Arab Spring world as its drive toward modernity threatens to sever its relationship with the ethos of Sufi thought and mysticism.
Product image
Inheritors
Asako Serizawa
From the O. Henry Prize-winning author comes a heartbreakingly beautiful and brutal exploration of lives fragmented by the Pacific side of World War II.
Product image
Berta Isla
Javier Marías
The new novel, now in paperback, from Javier Marías, the celebrated Spanish author of A Heart So White.
Product image
Tokyo Ueno Station
A Novel
Miri Yu
Like flashes of scenery framed by the window of an express train, Zainichi Korean writer Yu Miri depicts the lives of the most vulnerable in present-day Japan with snapshots of deftness and feeling. A poetic, elegant condemnation of the imperial system as seen through the eyes of a ghostly observer --recommended by Anna
Product image
POSTHUMOUS MEMOIRS OF BRAS CUBAS 'TR M J
Machado de Assis's classic novel, the precursor of Latin American fiction, is finally rendered as a stunningly relevant work for twenty-first-century readers.
Product image
Bluebeard's First Wife
Stories
Seong-Nan Ha
The second short story collection from the award-winning Korean author of Flowers of Mold.
Product image
People of the City
Cyprian Ekwensi
A vivid coming-of-age tale set in a Nigerian city about a young man trying to make his way as a journalist and band leader in the big city.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>