Fiction

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
A Brief History of Seven Killings
A Novel
Marlon James
Winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize, Marlon James combines masterful storytelling with his unrivaled skill at characterization and his meticulous eye for detail to forge a novel of dazzling ambition and scope.
Product image
The Story of the Lost Child
The Fourth and Final Neapolitan Novel
Elena Ferrante
"Nothing quite like this has ever been published before," proclaimed The Guardian newspaper about the Neapolitan Novels in 2014. Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, the third book in the series, was an international best seller and a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.
Product image
The Starless Sea
A Novel
Erin Morgenstern
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
The Promise
Silvina Ocampo
A dying woman's attempt to recount the story of her life reveals the fragility of memory and the illusion of identity.
Product image
Forgotten Journey
Silvina Ocampo
Delicately crafted, intensely visual, deeply personal stories explore the nature of memory, family ties, and the difficult imbalances of love.
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Only Americans Burn in Hell
Jarett Kobek
Recommended by Daven
Product image
The Testaments
Margaret Atwood
Margaret Atwood's dystopian masterpiece, The Handmaid’s Tale, has become a modern classic—and now she brings the iconic story to a dramatic conclusion in this riveting sequel.
Product image
The Nickel Boys
A Novel
Colson Whitehead
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
Product image
My Year of Rest and Relaxation
Ottessa Moshfegh
From one of our boldest, most celebrated new literary voices, a novel about a young woman's efforts to duck the ills of the world by embarking on an extended hibernation with the help of one of the worst psychiatrists in the annals of literature and the battery of medicines she prescribes.
Product image
Fruit of the Drunken Tree
A Novel
Ingrid Rojas Conteras
"One of the most dazzling and devastating novels I've read in a long time . . . Readers of Fruit of the Drunken Tree will surely be transformed."–San Francisco Chronicle
Product image
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
A Novel
Ocean Vuong
Written as a son's letter to his mother who cannot read, this novel is raw and achingly beautiful. Vuong’s writing is both visceral and sublime with lines that will render you awestruck. – Andy
Product image
East Goes West
Younghill Kang
"A wonderfully resplendent evocation of a newcomer's America" (Chang-rae Lee, author of Native Speaker) by the father of Korean American literature. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
America Is in the Heart
Carlos Bulosan
A 1946 Filipino American social classic about the United States in the 1930s from the perspective of a Filipino migrant laborer who endures racial violence and struggles with the paradox of the American dream, with a foreword by novelist Elaine Castillo –– Recommended by Paul

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>