Fiction

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Wild Milk
Sabrina Orah Mark
Wild Milk is like Borscht Belt meets Leonora Carrington; it's like Donald Barthelme meets Pony Head; it’s like the Brothers Grimm meet Beckett in his swim trunks at the beach. In other words, this remarkable collection of stories is unlike anything else you’ve read.
Product image
Fat City
A Novel
Leonard Gardner
Fat City is a vivid novel of allegiance and defeat, of the potent promise of the good life and the desperation and drink that waylay those whom it eludes. Stockton, California, is the setting: the Lido Gym, the Hotel Coma, Main Street lunchrooms and dingy bars, days like long twilights in houses obscured by untrimmed shrubs and black walnut trees.
Product image
A Brief History of Seven Killings
A Novel
Marlon James
Winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize, Marlon James combines masterful storytelling with his unrivaled skill at characterization and his meticulous eye for detail to forge a novel of dazzling ambition and scope.
Product image
The Starless Sea
A Novel
Erin Morgenstern
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. ––Recommended by Caitlyn
Product image
The Promise
Silvina Ocampo
A dying woman's attempt to recount the story of her life reveals the fragility of memory and the illusion of identity.
Product image
Forgotten Journey
Silvina Ocampo
Delicately crafted, intensely visual, deeply personal stories explore the nature of memory, family ties, and the difficult imbalances of love.
Product image
salt slow
From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. ––Recommended by Anna
Product image
Only Americans Burn in Hell
Jarett Kobek
Recommended by Daven
Product image
I Hotel
Tenth Anniversary Edition
Karen Tei Yamashita
An epic journey through one of America's most transformative decades via the stories of the activists, laborers, and students who shaped it. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
The Testaments
Margaret Atwood
Margaret Atwood's dystopian masterpiece, The Handmaid’s Tale, has become a modern classic—and now she brings the iconic story to a dramatic conclusion in this riveting sequel.
Product image
The Nickel Boys
A Novel
Colson Whitehead
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
Product image
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
A Novel
Ocean Vuong
Written as a son's letter to his mother who cannot read, this novel is raw and achingly beautiful. Vuong’s writing is both visceral and sublime with lines that will render you awestruck. – Andy
Product image
East Goes West
Younghill Kang
"A wonderfully resplendent evocation of a newcomer's America" (Chang-rae Lee, author of Native Speaker) by the father of Korean American literature. ––Recommended by Paul
Product image
America Is in the Heart
Carlos Bulosan
A 1946 Filipino American social classic about the United States in the 1930s from the perspective of a Filipino migrant laborer who endures racial violence and struggles with the paradox of the American dream, with a foreword by novelist Elaine Castillo –– Recommended by Paul

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>