City Lights Publications
In addition to our world-renowned bookstore, City Lights is a publishing company, offering 12-20 new titles each year and an extensive backlist of quality fiction and nonfiction titles. Founded by Lawrence Ferlinghetti in 1955, with nearly 200 books in print, City Lights publishes cutting-edge fiction, poetry, memoirs, literary translations and books on vital social and political issues. Here you'll find a selection of our most recent books and some we'd like to feature, and also a complete listing of our books, searchable by author and title. For more information on City Lights Publishers, see our Publisher's Home page.

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Doc/Undoc
Documentado/Undocumented Ars Shamánica Performática
Felicia Rice
MacArthur Genius Guillermo Gómez-Peña and award-winning book artist Felicia Rice create a multi-media, border-crossing hybrid: the book as performance art.
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series: Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
venture of the infinite man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!
Product image
Heaven Is All Goodbyes
Pocket Poets Series No. 61
Tongo Eisen-Martin
"This is resistance as sound."—Claudia Rankine
Product image
Like a Dog
Tara Jepsen
"[Like a Dog] announces a singular new voice in American fiction—one which is deeply alive, hard-hitting, and tender."––Maggie Nelson
Product image
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?
Mumia Abu-Jamal
"A must-read for anyone interested in social justice and inequalities, social movements, the criminal justice system, and African American history. An excellent companion to Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Ava DuVernay's documentary '13th'."—Library Journal, Starred Review
Product image
Whistleblower at the CIA
An Insider's Account of the Politics of Intelligence
Melvin A. Goodman
Russia expert and former CIA analyst Mel Goodman tells the inside story of political corruption at the organization, and what he did to try to stop it.
Product image
Holy Ghost
City Lights Spotlight No. 15
David Brazil
Anarcho-socialism meets Christian mysticism in an Occupy veteran's avant-garde poems.
Product image
Behind the Moon
Madison Smartt Bell
"A kind of primal storytelling that crackles with dread and desire."—O Magazine
Product image
On to the Next Dream
Paul Madonna
The tech gentrification of San Francisco, forcing out everyone from artists to middle-income families, captured in a first-person illustrated story.
Product image
In Memory of an Angel
David Shapiro
The first full-length collection in fifteen years from New York School prodigy and master of lyrical abstraction David Shapiro.
Product image
Selected Poems of Malcolm Lowry
Pocket Poets Series Number 17
Malcolm Lowry, Earle A. Birney
First collection of Lowry's poetic canon, including most of the Mexican verses related to his novel, Under the Volcano.
Product image
Motherland Hotel
Yusuf Atılgan
Camus meets Orhan Pamuk, via Freud, in this existentialist novel by the father of Turkish modernism.
Product image
and then we became
devorah major
Reaching from the kitchen table to the stars, ruminations on who we are, and how we became who we are.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>