City Lights Publications
In addition to our world-renowned bookstore, City Lights is a publishing company, offering 12-20 new titles each year and an extensive backlist of quality fiction and nonfiction titles. Founded by Lawrence Ferlinghetti in 1955, with nearly 200 books in print, City Lights publishes cutting-edge fiction, poetry, memoirs, literary translations and books on vital social and political issues. Here you'll find a selection of our most recent books and some we'd like to feature, and also a complete listing of our books, searchable by author and title. For more information on City Lights Publishers, see our Publisher's Home page.

   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
Retablos
Stories from a Life Lived Along the Border
Octavio Solis
Octavio Solis's memoir about growing up at the U.S./Mexico border. Called one of the Best Books of Fall 2018 by Buzzfeed, The Millions, and the CBC!
Product image
Torn from the World
A Guerrilla's Escape from a Secret Prison in Mexico
John Gibler
The real-life story of a political insurgent who was disappeared and tortured by the Mexican Army and miraculously escaped to tell the tale.
Product image
Poso Wells
Gabriela Alemán
Celebrated Ecuadorian author Gabriela Alemán's first work to appear in English: a noir, feminist eco-thriller in which venally corrupt politicians and greedy land speculators finally get their just comeuppance!
Product image
American Nightmare
Facing the Challenge of Fascism
Henry A. Giroux
A far-ranging critique of the rise of authoritarianism and white nationalism in the US and the consequences for democracy.
Product image
The Mathematics of the Breath and the Way
On Writers and Writing
Charles Bukowski, David Stephen Calonne
A collection of columns, reviews, introductions, interviews, and previously uncollected stories revealing the method behind the madness and critical acumen of Charles Bukowski.
Product image
Cruel Futures
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 17
Carmen Giménez Smith
A Latina feminist State of the Union address at the intersection of pop culture and interiority.
Product image
The Stone Building and Other Places
Aslı Erdoğan
Vivid stories from one of Turkey's most admired contemporary female authors, whose political activism has made her the target of state persecution.
Product image
A Good Day for Seppuku
Short Stories
Kate Braverman
Haunting new stories about girls on the brink of adulthood, women on the verge of breakdowns, and families undone by past deceptions.
Product image
Loaded
A Disarming History of the Second Amendment
Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
"If . . . anyone at all really wants to 'get to the root causes of gun violence in America,' they will need to start by coming to terms with even a fraction of what Loaded proposes."—Los Angeles Review of Books
Product image
The Novel of the Tupinamba Indian
E.F. Granell
Picaresque novel of the Spanish Civil War written by one of the most important post-WWII members of the Surrealist Movement.
Product image
Doc/Undoc
Documentado/Undocumented Ars Shamánica Performática
Felicia Rice
MacArthur Genius Guillermo Gómez-Peña and award-winning book artist Felicia Rice create a multi-media, border-crossing hybrid: the book as performance art.
Product image
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series: Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.
Product image
venture of the infinite man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!
Product image
Heaven Is All Goodbyes
Pocket Poets Series No. 61
Tongo Eisen-Martin
"This is resistance as sound."—Claudia Rankine

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>