Biography, Memoir, & Belles-Lettres

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
For Now
Eileen Myles
In this raucous meditation, Eileen Myles offers an intimate glimpse into creativity's immediacy.
Product image
Just Us
An American Conversation
Claudia Rankine
As everyday white supremacy becomes increasingly vocalized with no clear answers at hand, how best might we approach one another? Claudia Rankine, without telling us what to do, urges us to begin the discussions that might open pathways through this divisive and stuck moment in American history.
Product image
ANGELS & SAINTS
Illustrations by Mary Wellesley.
A gorgeously illustrated co-publication with Christine Burgin by "one of the world's great essayists" (The New York Times). With a guide to the illustrations by Mary Wellesley.
Product image
GOOD IMMIGRANT: 26 WRITERS REFLECT ON AMERICA
An entertaining and profound multiracial portrait of the Americas as expressed through the voices of 26 incredible writers, including Teju Cole,Jenny Zhang, Tejal Rao, and Porochista Khakpour. Aqui estamos y no nos vamos --RECOMMENDED BY JOSIAH
Product image
They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us
Essays
Hanif Abdurraqib
"THIS IS MY FAVORITE COLLECTION OF ESSAYS RIGHT NOW. IF YOU DON'T APPRECIATE HANIF ABDURRAQIB, YOU'RE NOT MY FRIEND! --Recommended by Jared
Product image
Men Explain Things To Me
Rebecca Solnit
In her comic, scathing essay, "Men Explain Things to Me," Rebecca Solnit took on what often goes wrong in conversations between men and women. She wrote about men who wrongly assume they know things and wrongly assume women don't, about why this arises, and how this aspect of the gender wars works.
Product image
Under the Dome
Walks with Paul Celan
Jean Daive
An arresting memoir of the final years and tragic suicide of one of twentieth-century Europe's greatest poets, published on the centenary of his birth.
Product image
Funeral Diva
Pamela Sneed
A poetic memoir about coming-of-age in the AIDS era, and its effects on life and art. "She is a writer for the future, in that she defies genre."—Hilton Als *Get a signed book plate by Pamela Sneed! We'll include one with each book purchase while supply lasts.
Product image
Intimations
Six Essays
Zadie Smith
Deeply personal and powerfully moving, a short and timely series of reflective essays by one of the most clear-sighted and essential writers of our time.
Product image
Bukowski, A Life
The Centennial Edition
Neeli Cherkovski
The life of Charles Bukowski, laureate of lowlife Los Angeles, written by close friend and collaborator, Neeli Cherkovski.
Product image
Mr. Know-It-All
The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder
John Waters
The newest essay collection from the New York Times bestselling author John Waters, reflecting on how to overcome newfound respectability and rebel in the autumn of your years.
Product image
Trick Mirror
Reflections on Self-Delusion
Jia Tolentino
Recommended by Emma

The New York Times bestselling book that examines the fractures at the center of contemporary culture with verve, deftness, and intellectual ferocity—for readers who wonder what Susan Sontag would have been like if she had brain damage from the Internet.

Product image
A History of My Brief Body
Essays
Billy-Ray Belcourt
The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be. For readers of Ocean Vuong, Maggie Nelson, and Terese Marie Mailhot.
Product image
Coventry
Essays
Rachel Cusk
From the author of the Outline Trilogy, a selection of nonfiction writings that both offers new insights on the themes at the heart of her fiction and forges a startling critical voice on some of our most urgent personal, social, and artistic questions.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>