Biography, Memoir, & Belles-Lettres

Books in this online selection represent only a sliver of what we offer in the store. If you've got a particular book in mind and want to check on its availability, call us at 415-362-8193.



   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title | author


Product image
They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us
Essays
Hanif Abdurraqib
"THIS IS MY FAVORITE COLLECTION OF ESSAYS RIGHT NOW. IF YOU DON'T APPRECIATE HANIF ABDURRAQIB, YOU'RE NOT MY FRIEND! --Recommended by Jared
Product image
Men Explain Things To Me
Rebecca Solnit
In her comic, scathing essay, "Men Explain Things to Me," Rebecca Solnit took on what often goes wrong in conversations between men and women. She wrote about men who wrongly assume they know things and wrongly assume women don't, about why this arises, and how this aspect of the gender wars works.
Product image
Bukowski, A Life
The Centennial Edition
Neeli Cherkovski
The life of Charles Bukowski, laureate of lowlife Los Angeles, written by close friend and collaborator, Neeli Cherkovski.
Product image
Zora and Langston
A Story of Friendship and Betrayal
Yuval Taylor
Novelist Zora Neale Hurston and poet Langston Hughes, two of America's greatest writers, first met in New York City in 1925. By illuminating their lives, work, competitiveness, and ambitions, Yuval Taylor savvily details how their friendship and literary collaborations dead-ended in acrimonious accusations.
Product image
Mr. Know-It-All
The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder
John Waters
The newest essay collection from the New York Times bestselling author John Waters, reflecting on how to overcome newfound respectability and rebel in the autumn of your years.
Product image
Trick Mirror
Reflections on Self-Delusion
Jia Tolentino
Recommended by Emma

The New York Times bestselling book that examines the fractures at the center of contemporary culture with verve, deftness, and intellectual ferocity—for readers who wonder what Susan Sontag would have been like if she had brain damage from the Internet.

Product image
A History of My Brief Body
Essays
Billy-Ray Belcourt
The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be. For readers of Ocean Vuong, Maggie Nelson, and Terese Marie Mailhot.
Product image
Coventry
Essays
Rachel Cusk
From the author of the Outline Trilogy, a selection of nonfiction writings that both offers new insights on the themes at the heart of her fiction and forges a startling critical voice on some of our most urgent personal, social, and artistic questions.
Product image
Above Us Only Sky
Essays
Marion Winik
This updated edition of Marion Winik's original essay collection includes essays from her award-winning column in the Baltimore Fishbowl.
Product image
The Dragons, the Giant, and the Women
A Memoir
Wayétu Moore
An engrossing memoir of escaping the First Liberian Civil War and building a life in the United States from the author of She Would Be King.
Product image
Philosopher of the Heart
The Restless Life of Søren Kierkegaard
Clare Carlisle
Philosopher of the Heart is the groundbreaking biography of renowned existentialist Søren Kierkegaard's life and creativity, and a searching exploration of how to be a human being in the world.
Product image
GROUNDWORK ' AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL WRITINGS
Autobiographical Writings, 1979-2012
Paul Auster
An updated collection of nonfiction, including the seminal work The Invention of Solitude, from Man Booker Prize Finalist Paul Auster.
Product image
Figure It Out
Essays
Wayne Koestenbaum
A collection of intimate reflections (on art, punctuation, eyeglasses, color, dreams, celebrity, corpses, porn, and translation) and "assignments" that encourage pleasure, attentiveness, and acts of playful making, from the mischievous, munificent, extraordinary mind of legendary public intellectual.
Product image
Ornette Coleman
The Territory and the Adventure
Maria Golia
The compelling story of one of America's most adventurous musicians and the sound of a changing world.

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>