Readings at the Bookstore

City Lights hosts weekly events with authors from across the publishing world. With our store closed until further notice, we're finding new ways to adapt and move our events online. Click on the listings below to learn more, and follow us on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter for regular updates. And please consider supporting our events authors by buying their book from our Bookshop list.

 

 

Subscribe on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, or Stitcher to our podcast series, LIVE! From City Lights–broadcasting events & archives from City Lights.

Our virtual events series is being uploaded to our Youtube page. Subscribe to our channel to watch events you missed!

 


 

 

John Nichols in conversation with Robert Scheer
Event will be held virtually on the Crowdcast platform. Consult event listing for more info.
Wednesday July 15, 2020, 6:00 p.m. PST / 9:00 p.m. EST

discussing the state of the Dis-Union. Celebrating the release of John Nichol's new book

The Fight for the Soul of the Democratic Party: The Enduring Legacy of Henry Wallace's Anti-Fascist, Anti-Racist Politics


 
Vegetable Nerves: A Group Reading of Philip Whalen's "Scenes of Life at the Capital"
This is a virtual event that will be hosted by City Lights on the Zoom platform. You will need access to a computer
Thursday, July 16, 2020, 5:30 p.m. PST / 8:30 p.m. EST

with with David Brazil, Anselm Berrigan, Andrew Schelling, Hoa Nguyen, Marie Buck, Norman Fischer, Phil Elverum (Mount Eerie), Will Alexander, Aisha Sasha John, and



Cynthia Kaufman
Event will be held on Zoom. Click the link in the event description for info.
Tuesday, July 21, 2020, 6:00 p.m. PST, 9:00 p.m. EST

discussing her new book

Challenging Power: Democracy and Accountability in a Fractured World

published by Bloomsbury Books


 
Robert Mailer Anderson & Friends
Event will be held on Zoom. Click the link in the event description for info.
Tuesday, July 28, 2020, 6:00 p.m. PST / 9:00 p.m. EST

celebrating his new graphic novel

Windows on the World

published by Fantagraphics Books

Co-authored with Zack Anderson and Jon Sack



The Bomb: Understanding its History and the Hope for a Nuclear-Free Future
Event will be held on Zoom. Click the link in the event description for info.
Sunday, August 9, 2020, 3:00 p.m. PST | 6:00 p.m. EST

with Fred Kaplan, James L Nolan Jr., Dr. Tova Fuller & Dr. Robert Gould (of San Francisco Bay Physicians for Social Responsibility) 


  The Tree and the Vine: The Queer Fiction of Dola de Jong
Event will be held on Zoom. Click the link in the event description for info.
Sunday, August 23, 2020, 12 noon p.m. PST / 3:00 p.m. EST

Editor Kristen Gehrman in conversation with Jennifer Croft