Welcome to City Lights Bookstore!

A literary meeting place since 1953, City Lights is a landmark general bookstore, internationally known for its expert selection of books and for its commitment to free intellectual inquiry. Here you can check out our events calendar, browse a selection of featured books, new releases and recommended titles from the City Lights staff, sign up to receive City Lights newsletters, and learn a bit of the history of City Lights.

Keep in mind that our website represents only a tiny percentage of the titles we actually carry in our bookstore, so if you don't see what you want, please do give us a call Monday - Saturday from 12-6pm, or email us at orders@citylights.com anytime to inquire about availability — we probably have what you want! 

For any immediate questions or concerns, see our contact page or give us a call at (415) 362-8193

 

Featured and Recommended Titles at the Bookstore

Product image
Night Animals
The Quarternote Chapbook Series (Book 18)
Yusef Komunyakaa
New poetry from the author of The Emperor of Water Clocks with illustrations by artist Rachel Bliss.
Product image
Trust Exercise
A Novel
Susan Choi
The winner of the 2019 National Book Award for Fiction, from the author of My Education and American Woman.
Product image
The Eye You See with
Selected Nonfiction
Robert Stone, Madison Smartt Bell
The definitive collection of nonfiction--from war reporting to literary criticism to the sharpest political writing--from the "legend of American letters" (Vanity Fair).
Product image
Godshot
A Novel
Chelsea Bieker
Possessed of an unstoppable plot and a brilliantly soulful voice, Godshot is a book of grit and humor and heart, a debut novel about female friendship and resilience, mother-loss and motherhood, and seeking salvation in unexpected places.
Product image
My Mother's House
A Novel
Francesca Momplaisir
For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors
Product image
Telephone
A Novel
Percival Everett
An astonishing new novel of loss and grief from "one of our culture's preeminent novelists" (Los Angeles Times)
Product image
Ornamental
Juan Cárdenas
A genre-blurring English-language debut from one of Colombia's most exciting writers, who was named by the Hay Festival in Bogotá as one of the 39 best Latin American writers under the age of 39.
Product image
Under the Red White and Blue
Patriotism, Disenchantment, and the Stubborn Myth of the Great Gatsby
Greil Marcus
A deep dive into how F. Scott Fitzgerald's vision of the American Dream has been understood, portrayed, distorted, misused, and kept alive.
Product image
A Luminous Republic
Andrés Barba
A new novel from a Spanish literary star about the arrival of feral children to a tropical city in Argentina, and the quest to stop them from pulling the place into chaos.
Product image
Fire in Paradise
An American Tragedy
Dani Anguiano, Alastair Gee
What happened in Paradise was unprecedented in America. Yet according to climate scientists and fire experts, it will surely happen again. This is the story of a town at the forefront of a devastating global shift.
Product image
Postcolonial Love Poem
Poems
Natalie Diaz's highly anticipated follow-up to When My Brother Was an Aztec, winner of an American Book Award
Product image
Reproduction
A Novel
Ian Williams
Reproduction tells a crooked love story in which love takes strange, winding paths and grows in a context shaped by community, family, longstanding friendships, and fleeting interactions that leave their mark on us forever.
Product image
The Anthill
A Novel
Julianne Pachico
A wildly original blend of social horror and razor sharp satire, The Anthill is a searing exploration of privilege, racism, and redemption in the Instagram age.
Product image
Dark Constellations
A Novel
Pola Oloixarac
Recommended by Josiah

Argentinian literary star Pola Oloixarac's visionary new novel races from the world of 19th-century science to an ultra-surveilled near future, exploring humanity's quest for knowledge and control, and leaping forward to the next steps in human evolution.

Product image
The Uninhabitable Earth
Life After Warming
David Wallace-Wells
Both a travelogue of the near future and a meditation on how that future will look to those living through it--the ways that warming promises to transform global politics, the meaning of technology and nature in the modern world, the sustainability of capitalism and the trajectory of human progress.