10 Minutes 38 Seconds In This Strange World
10 Minutes 38 Seconds In This Strange World

Shortlisted for the 2019 Booker Prize
Named a Best Book of the Year by Bookpage, NPR, Washington Post, and The Economist

A moving novel on the power of friendship in our darkest times, from internationally renowned writer and speaker Elif Shafak.

In the pulsating moments after she has been murdered and left in a dumpster outside Istanbul, Tequila Leila enters a state of heightened awareness. Her heart has stopped beating but her brain is still active-for 10 minutes 38 seconds. While the Turkish sun rises and her friends sleep soundly nearby, she remembers her life-and the lives of others, outcasts like her.

Tequila Leila's memories bring us back to her childhood in the provinces, a highly oppressive milieu with religion and traditions, shaped by a polygamous family with two mothers and an increasingly authoritarian father. Escaping to Istanbul, Leila makes her way into the sordid industry of sex trafficking, finding a home in the city's historic Street of Brothels. This is a dark, violent world, but Leila is tough and open to beauty, light, and the essential bonds of friendship.

In Tequila Leila's death, the secrets and wonders of modern Istanbul come to life, painted vividly by the captivating tales of how Leila came to know and be loved by her friends. As her epic journey to the afterlife comes to an end, it is her chosen family who brings her story to a buoyant and breathtaking conclusion.

Title 10 Minutes 38 Seconds In This Strange World
Edition First Edition
Author Elif Shafak
Publisher Bloomsbury USA
Title First Published 13 October 2020
Format Paperback
Book Trade Category US open market edition
Nb of pages 336 p.
Product Detail 1 Trade paperback (US)
ISBN-10 1635575818
ISBN-13 9781635575811
Publication Date 13 October 2020
Publication , United States
Product Content Text (eye-readable)
Main content page count 336
Dimensions 5.2 x 8.4 in.
Weight 16 oz.

We also suggest

Product image
Jumping Over Fire
Nahid Rachlin
2006 Edition