Lectures and Writings
John Cage

Silence, A Year from Monday, M, Empty Words and X (in this order) form the five parts of a series of books in which Cage tries, as he says, "to find a way of writing which comes from ideas, is not about them, but which produces them." Often these writings include mesostics and essays created by subjecting the work of other writers to chance procedures using the I Ching (what Cage called "writing through").

Title Silence
Subtitle Lectures and Writings
Author John Cage
Publisher Wesleyan University Press
Title First Published 15 June 1961
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 288 p.
ISBN-10 0819560286
ISBN-13 9780819560285
Publication Date 15 June 1961
Main content page count 288
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $25.95

We also suggest

Product image
On Highway 61
Music, Race and the Evolution of Cultural Freedom
Dennis McNally
2014 Edition