How a Mirage Works
How a Mirage Works
Beverly Burch

"In one of Beverly Burch's poems, the speaker announces 'I'm ordinary. Like an old dreamer . . .' But there is nothing ordinary in this collection. Over and over, the world is rendered in the most exacting of visual details. But it isn't just the world that is scrutinized. Even individual words, like rejection, must withstand this poet's particular gaze, so that what we are forced to see that 'By late / Anglo-Saxon, jection was firmly merged / with re- since everyone knew you'd do it again.' This is a fine and well-wrought collection of poems that will reward dividends with each and every reading." --C. Dale Young

"How A Mirage Works [is] marked by a subtle, free-flowing music and an almost surgical attention to sensuous, definitive detail. Burch juxtaposes fine poems of familial struggle and grief with poems notable for their observant, at-the-ready wisdom and humor. Her work is blessedly sane and concise." --Cyrus Cassells

"How a Mirage Works is a powerful collection of poems. Burch's mastery of the music of words is remarkable, and the poems stay alive long after they have been read. A poet's voice as richly nuanced as hers is a rare and always welcome thing." --Thomas Ogden

About the Author
"Beverly Burch's first book of poetry, Sweet to Burn, won the Gival Poetry Prize and a Lambda Literary Award. Her fiction and poetry have appeared in New England Review, Willow Springs, The Antioch Review, Southern Poetry Review, North American Review, and Southern Humanities Review. She is the author of two nonfiction books, On Intimate Terms (University of Illinois Press) and Other Women, (Columbia University Press), and has a psychotherapy practice in Berkeley, California."

Title How a Mirage Works
Author Beverly Burch
Publisher Sixteen Rivers Press
Title First Published 16 April 2014
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 96 p.
ISBN-10 1939639042
ISBN-13 9781939639042
Publication Date 16 April 2014
Main content page count 96
Weight 16 oz.

We also suggest

Product image
Ghost Tantras
Michael McClure
2013 Edition