When Breath Becomes Air
When Breath Becomes Air
Paul Kalanithi



For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Title When Breath Becomes Air
Author Paul Kalanithi
Publisher Random House
Title First Published 12 January 2016
Format Hardcover
Nb of pages 256 p.
ISBN-10 081298840X
ISBN-13 9780812988406
Publication Date 12 January 2016
Main content page count 256
Weight 32 oz.
 


We also suggest

Product image
The Jazz of Physics
The Secret Link Between Music and the Structure of the Universe
Stephon Alexander
2016 Edition