The Complete Stories
The Complete Stories
Flannery O'Connor

Quite simply, the finest storyteller I've ever read. —Recommended by Cassie, City Lights Books

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Read this book, every bit of it, and then read it again. You more or less feel these stories rather than read them. —Recommended by Jackson, City Lights Books

Winner of the National Book Award

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime--Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find.

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day"--sent to her publisher shortly before her death—is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.

Title The Complete Stories
Author Flannery O'Connor
Publisher Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Title First Published 01 January 1971
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 555 p.
ISBN-10 0374515360
ISBN-13 9780374515362
Publication Date 01 January 1971
Main content page count 555
Weight 16 oz.

We also suggest

Product image
The Nigger Factory
Gil Scott-Heron
2012 Edition