Points of Departure
Points of Departure
New Stories from Mexico
Edited by Mónica Lavin

Points of Departure brings together seventeen Mexican authors born in the 1950s and 1960s, most of whom had never before been published in English.

Magical realism and exoticism are nowhere to be found in this collection of sophisticated, very contemporary stories. Rather, the surreal contradictions and juxtapositions of daily life in Mexico are a permeating presence. A sharp sense of irony, incongruity, and hilarity pervades many of the scenarios offered here, along with an acid-tongued fatalism in the face of a reality where poverty, lawlessness, and urban decay coexist alongside innocent dreams of love.

Bernardo Ruíz, Josefina Estrada, Rafael Pérez Gay, Humberto Rivas, Daniel Sada, Rosa Beltrán, David Toscana, Juan Villoro, Mónica Lavín, Juvenal Acosta, Álvaro Uribe, Rosina Conde, Eduardo Antonio Parra, Mauricio Montiel, Ethel Krauze, Enrique Serna, Francisco Hinojosa

"A satisfying collection of 17 short stories by as many writers, all born in the 1950s and 1960s. . . A find collection." —Kirkus Review

Gustavo Segade is Emeritus Professor of Spanish at San Diego State University. He has translated the work of many South American and Mexican writers, including Olga Orozco, Alberto Blanco, Rosina Conde, Sergio Elizondo, Mónica Lavín and Daniel Sada.

Mónica Lavin (Mexico City) is a writer and journalist, a dedicated cultural organizer and commentator, and president of the Association of Ibero-American Writers.

Title Points of Departure
Subtitle New Stories from Mexico
Edited by Mónica Lavin
Publisher City Lights Publishers
Title First Published 01 June 2001
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 184 p.
ISBN-10 0872863816
ISBN-13 9780872863811
Publication Date 01 June 2001
Main content page count 184
Dimensions 6.3 x 8 in.
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $15.95

We also suggest

Product image
The Lost Civilization of Suolucidir
Susan Daitch
2016 Edition

other titles relative to
Latin America
Literature in Translation