Where Shadows Will: Selected Poems 1988-2008

Where Shadows Will: Selected Poems 1988-2008
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 1

Where Shadows Will is a finalist for the 2010 Northern California Independent Booksellers Association Poetry Book of the Year.

The first installment of our new Spotlight poetry series, Where Shadows Will selects from twenty years of innovative writing by Bay Area poet, translator, and visual artist Norma Cole. Beginning with her earliest collection, Mace Hill Remap (1988), and taking us up through her recent NATURAL LIGHT (2008), Where Shadows Will is a comprehensive overview of Cole's melodic and experimental poetry, whose shadow-haunted landscapes embody a theory-informed exploration of the relationship between language, self, and world. By turns severe and exuberant, Where Shadows Will confirms Cole's place as a major avant-garde poet and a leading voice among contemporary innovative women writers.

Praise for Norma Cole's Spinoza and Her Youth:

"She is a poet of consummate intelligence, a deft and compassionate company, who may now not, in Robert Duncan's phrase, remember whether she 'read' or 'wrote' this wonderous book."
—Robert Creeley

Title Where Shadows Will: Selected Poems 1988-2008
Subtitle City Lights Spotlight Series No. 1
Edition First Edition
Author Norma Cole
Publisher City Lights Publishers
BISAC Subject Heading POE000000 POETRY
Title First Published 15 April 2009
Format Paperback
Nb of pages CXX - p.
ISBN-10 087286474X
ISBN-13 9780872864740
Publication Date 15 April 2009
Front matter page count (Roman) 120
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $15.95

We also suggest

Product image
Pier Paolo Pasolini
Poet of Ashes
Pier Paolo Pasolini
2007 Edition
other titles in the collection
City Lights Spotlight

other titles relative to
California Writers

avant-garde poetry, Bay Area experimental poetry, Bay Area poets, female experimental poets, language poetry