Zeno's Conscience
Zeno's Conscience
A Novel
Italo Svevo

Translated by William Weaver


This modernist classic deserves its reputation as a masterful immersion in the contortions of one neurotic mind. It's the voice here that wins one over, as our hero good-naturedly dissects his own petty motivations, gets caught up in layer after layer of sincerity about his own falsity, and generally plays his own convoluted psyche as a virtuoso would a pipe organ. Simply put, it's hard not to love being spoken to by Zeno. —Recommended by Matt, City Lights Books

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo's charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno's interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected—and unexpectedly happy—marriage to Ada's homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno's Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

Title Zeno's Conscience
Subtitle A Novel
Author Italo Svevo
Translated by William Weaver
Publisher Vintage
Title First Published 04 February 2003
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 464 p.
ISBN-10 0375727760
ISBN-13 9780375727764
Publication Date 04 February 2003
Main content page count 464
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $16.95
 


We also suggest

Product image
South of the Border, West of the Sun
A Novel
Haruki Murakami
2000 Edition