On Sal Mal Lane
On Sal Mal Lane
A Novel
Ru Freeman



Recommended by Paul, City Lights Books

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war

On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the neighbors adapt to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small rivalries. But the tremors of civil war are mounting, and the conflict threatens to engulf them all.

In a heartrending novel poised between the past and the future, the innocence of the children—a beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, a rejected son and his twin sisters, two very different brothers—contrasts sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care. In Ru Freeman's masterful hands, On Sal Mal Lane, a story of what was lost to a country and her people, becomes a resounding cry for reconciliation.

Title On Sal Mal Lane
Subtitle A Novel
Author Ru Freeman
Publisher Graywolf Press
Title First Published 14 May 2013
Format Hardcover
Nb of pages 336 p.
ISBN-10 1555976425
ISBN-13 9781555976422
Publication Date 14 May 2013
Main content page count 336
Weight 32 oz.
List Price $26.00
 


We also suggest

Product image
Siddhartha
Hermann Hesse
2002 Edition