City Lights Pocket Poets Anthology

(PDF 474 KB)
City Lights Pocket Poets Anthology
60th Anniversary Edition

Edited by Lawrence Ferlinghetti

A comprehensive selection from Ferlinghetti's famed City Lights Pocket Poets Series, published on the 60th anniversary of its founding.

"Printer's ink is the greater explosive."—Lawrence Ferlinghetti

Lawrence Ferlinghetti founded the City Lights publishing house sixty years ago in 1955, launching the press with his now legendary Pocket Poets Series. First in the series was Pictures of the Gone World—and within a year, he had brought out two more volumes, translations by Kenneth Rexroth and then, poems by Kenneth Patchen. But it was the success and scandal of Number Four, Howl & Other Poems by Allen Ginsberg (1956), that put City Lights on the map, positioning the Pocket Poets Series at the forefront of the literary counterculture.

A landmark sixtieth retrospective celebrating 60 years of publishing and cultural history, this edition provides an invaluable distillation of the energetic, iconoclastic and still fresh body of work represented in the ongoing series. Ferlinghetti has selected a handful of poems from each of the sixty volumes, including the work of Ginsberg, Kerouac, Corso, Pasolini, Voznesensky, Prévert, Mayakovsky, Cortázar, O'Hara, Ponsot, Levertov, di Prima, Duncan, Lamantia, Lowry, and more, all of the Pocket Poets Series' innovative, influential, and often ground-breaking American and international poets.

Title City Lights Pocket Poets Anthology
Subtitle 60th Anniversary Edition
Publisher City Lights Publishers
Title First Published 03 June 2015
Format Hardcover
Nb of pages 306 p.
ISBN-10 0872866793
ISBN-13 9780872866799
Publication Date 30 June 2015
Main content page count 306
Weight 32 oz.
List Price $21.95

We also suggest

Product image
These Are My Rivers
New & Selected Poems, 1955-1993
Lawrence Ferlinghetti
1994 Edition
other titles in the collection
City Lights Pocket Poets

other titles relative to

Allen Ginsberg
beat generation
jack kerouac