Empire of Illusion
Empire of Illusion
The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
Chris Hedges



Pulitzer prize–winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion.

Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this "other society," serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture — attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies — exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Title Empire of Illusion
Subtitle The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
Author Chris Hedges
Publisher Nation Books
Dewey Classification 306
Title First Published 05 October 2010
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 240 p.
ISBN-10 1568586132
ISBN-13 9781568586137
Publication Date 05 October 2010
Main content page count 240
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $14.95
 


We also suggest

Product image
The Life of the Mind
Combined Two Volumes in One
Hannah Arendt
1981 Edition