A Naked Singularity
A Naked Singularity
A Novel
Sergio de la Pava

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves.

It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today.

In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

Title A Naked Singularity
Subtitle A Novel
Author Sergio de la Pava
Publisher University Of Chicago Press
Title First Published 19 April 2012
Format Paperback
Nb of pages
ISBN-10 0226141799
ISBN-13 9780226141794
Publication Date 19 April 2012
Weight 16 oz.

We also suggest

Product image
Revenge of the Lawn, The Abortion, So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away
Richard Brautigan
1995 Edition