Stolen Oranges
Stolen Oranges
Letters Between Cervantes and the Emperor of China, A Pseudo-Fiction
Max Yeh



In locations ranging from the archives of Imperial China to a rare book shop in Mexico City, a Chinese American historian discovers six anonymous documents in Spanish and Chinese, and constructs them into a years-long correspondence between the Chinese Emperor Wanli and Cervantes, the author of Don Quixote. Utilizing his vast historical knowledge and linguistic abilities, the historian draws connections across the disparate geography of the 17th century. As in his acclaimed previous novel, The Beginning of the East, Max Yeh remaps literary conventions, sending ripples through the idea of historical fiction in the vein of Jorge Luis Borges and Italo Calvino.

Title Stolen Oranges
Subtitle Letters Between Cervantes and the Emperor of China, A Pseudo-Fiction
Author Max Yeh
Publisher Kaya Press
Title First Published 24 October 2017
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 184 p.
ISBN-10 1885030509
ISBN-13 9781885030504
Publication Date 04 October 2017
Main content page count 184
Weight 16 oz.
 


We also suggest

Product image
Telex from Cuba
A Novel
Rachel Kushner
2009 Edition