Invocation to Daughters
Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16


Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.

The fifth collection from Oakland poet Barbara Jane Reyes, in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha, Invocation to Daughters is a book of prayers, psalms, and odes for Filipina girls and women trying to survive and make sense of their own situations. Writing in an English inflected with Tagalog and Spanish, Reyes unleashes this colonized tongue against sexualized and racialized violence towards Pinay women. With its meditations on the relationship between fathers and daughters and impassioned pleas on behalf of victims of brutality, Invocation to Daughters is a lyrical feminist broadside written from a place of shared humanity.

"Against violence against women, Barbara Jane Reyes rips and runs, jumping off Audre Lorde's 'the master’s tools will never dismantle the master’s house,' Invocation to Daughters recombines registers––prayers, pleas and elegy––braiding a trilingual triple-threat, a 3-pronged poetics that enjambs and reconfigures the formal with the street, utterance with erasure, the prose sentence with the liminal. Invocation to Daughters reminds me of the 70's in the East Bay, when Jessica Hagedorn met Ntozake Shange and ignited a green flash seen from horizon to horizon. Barbara Jane Reyes is one of the Bay Area’s incendiary voices."––Sesshu Foster

Born in Manila, Philippines and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, Barbara Jane Reyes is the author of four previous poetry collections, including Gravities of Center (Arkipelago Books, 2003), Poeta en San Francisco (Tinfish Press, 2005), which received the James Laughlin Award, Diwata (BOA Editions, Ltd., 2010), which received the Global Filipino Literary Award for Poetry, and To Love as Aswang (PAWA, 2015). She received her B.A. at U.C. Berkeley and her M.F.A. at San Francisco State University. She teaches at University of San Francisco's Yuchengco Philippine Studies Program and currently serves on the Board of Directors for Philippine American Writers and Artists (PAWA). She lives with her husband, poet Oscar Bermeo, in Oakland, where she co-edits Doveglion Press.

Title Invocation to Daughters
Subtitle City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Publisher City Lights Publishers
Title First Published 07 November 2017
ONIX Adult Audience Rating      01 Any adult audience
Format Paperback
Nb of pages 100 p.
ISBN-10 0872867471
ISBN-13 9780872867475
Publication Date 07 November 2017
Main content page count 100
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $14.95
 


We also suggest

Product image
Nervous Device
City Lights Spotlight No. 8
Catherine Wagner
2012 Edition
 
other titles in the collection
City Lights Spotlight

other titles relative to
Poetry
Women

tags
experimental poetry
feminism
women