23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
Ha-Joon Chang



Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.

Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the bestselling Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism. His Kicking Away the Ladder received the 2003 Myrdal Prize, and, in 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

Title 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
Author Ha-Joon Chang
Publisher Bloomsbury Press
Title First Published 16 January 2012
Format Paperback
Nb of pages
ISBN-10 1608193381
ISBN-13 9781608193387
Publication Date 16 January 2012
Weight 16 oz.
List Price $16.00
 


We also suggest

Product image
WikiLeaks
Inside Julian Assange's War on Secrecy
Luke Harding, David Leigh
2011 Edition