City Lights Bookstore is Now Open

Every Day, from 12–8pm

Please note that everyone must wear a face mask covering both nose and mouth
at all times while in the bookstore.

We've got hand sanitizer and social-distancing measures in place,
including a new Entrance for one-way traffic.

We hope you'll come by to see us—we are SO excited to welcome everyone back!!

 

THANK YOU to all the protesters! 
Stay Strong and Be Safe, beautiful people.

***

Human creativity is integral to revolutionary resistance — the urgent plea, the silenced cry, the righteous rage. It is imperative that we educate and illuminate ourselves to deepen our commitment to justice and equity for Black people and all people of color, and to pave the way for radical systemic change. 

 

Here is an Antiracist reading list intended to inform and inspire, curated by our booksellers at City Lights.

 

 

New at City Lights Bookstore

Product image
The Lost Art of Scripture
Rescuing The Sacred Texts
Karen Armstrong
The Quran is used by some to justify acts of terrorism, the Torah to deny Palestinians the right to live in the Land of Israel, the Bible to condemn homosexuality and contraception. The significance of scripture may not be immediately obvious in our secular world, but its misunderstanding is perhaps the root cause of many of today's controversies.

Product image
The Old Drift
A Novel
Namwali Serpell
Recommended by Paul

A stunning debut novel and the winner of the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Ray Bradbury Prize, and longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize.


Product image
Wilmington's Lie
The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy
David Zucchino
From Pulitzer Prize-winner David Zucchino comes a searing account of the Wilmington riot and coup of 1898, an extraordinary event unknown to most Americans.

Product image
Postcolonial Love Poem
Poems
Natalie Diaz's highly anticipated follow-up to When My Brother Was an Aztec, winner of an American Book Award.

Product image
Stony the Road
Reconstruction, White Supremacy, and the Rise of Jim Crow
Henry Louis Gates Jr.
Recommended by Paul

A profound new rendering of the struggle by African-Americans for equality after the Civil War and the violent counter-revolution that resubjugated them, as seen through the prism of the war of images and ideas that have left an enduring racist stain on the American mind.


Product image
See No Stranger
A Memoir and Manifesto of Revolutionary Love
Valarie Kaur
An urgent manifesto and a dramatic memoir of awakening, this is the story of revolutionary love.

Product image
Latitudes of Longing
A Novel
Shubhangi Swarup
A sweeping, lyrical debut about the love and longing between humanity and the earth itself, by a major new literary talent from India.

Product image
My Mother's House
A Novel
Francesca Momplaisir
For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors.

Product image
Afropessimism
Frank B. Wilderson III
Combining precise philosophy with a torrent of memories, Wilderson presents the tenets of an increasingly prominent intellectual movement that sees Blackness through the lens of perpetual slavery.

Product image
W.E.B. Du Bois's Data Portraits
Visualizing Black America
Whitney Battle-Baptiste, Britt Rusert
Recommended by Paul

The colorful charts, graphs, and maps presented at the 1900 Paris Exposition by famed sociologist and black rights activist W. E. B. Du Bois offered a view into the lives of black Americans, conveying a literal and figurative representation of "the color line."


Product image
The Anthill
A Novel
Julianne Pachico
A wildly original blend of social horror and razor sharp satire, The Anthill is a searing exploration of privilege, racism, and redemption in the Instagram age.

Product image
Tacky's Revolt
The Story of an Atlantic Slave War
Vincent Brown
A gripping account of the largest slave revolt in the eighteenth-century British Atlantic world, an uprising that laid bare the interconnectedness of Europe, Africa, and America, shook the foundations of empire, and reshaped ideas of race and popular belonging.

Product image
Undocumented Lives
The Untold Story of Mexican Migration
Ana Raquel Minian
Recommended by Josiah

"A thorough and humanely researched book on the migration of the Mexican people in North America that presents us with not only the economic and political reasons that fueled the migration but also delves into the deeply personal and historical factors involved as well."


Product image
Being Property Once Myself
Blackness and the End of Man
Joshua Bennett
A prize-winning poet argues that blackness acts as the caesura between human and nonhuman, man and animal.

   

New and Forthcoming from City Lights Publishers

Product image
Every Day We Get More Illegal
Juan Felipe Herrera
A State of the Union from the nation's first Latino Poet Laureate. Trenchant, compassionate, and filled with hope.

Product image
Natch
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 20
Sophia Dahlin
Queer pastoral lyrics take on the romantic sublime in a stunningly assured debut collection.

Product image
The Green New Deal and Beyond
Ending the Climate Emergency While We Still Can
Stan Cox
Honoring the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, a clear and urgent call for the national, social, and individual changes required to prevent catastrophic climate change.

Product image
Under the Dome
Walks with Paul Celan
Jean Daive
An arresting memoir of the final years and tragic suicide of one of twentieth-century Europe's greatest poets, published on the centenary of his birth.

Product image
Little Hill
Alli Warren
Despite the dystopian now, Alli Warren finds promise in the smallest human instances of tenderness, ecological connection, and political solidarity. Little Hill is about learning to live and love in the 21st century while not shying away from all there is to struggle against.

Product image
Facing You
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 19
Uche Nduka
From acclaimed Nigeria-born, Brooklyn-based poet Uche Nduka, a book of love poems written with compact elegance and vivid eroticism.

Product image
No Fascist USA!
The John Brown Anti-Klan Committee and Lessons for Today's Movements
Hilary Moore, James Tracy
"Smash fascism! Read this book!"––Tom Morello, songwriter and guitarist with Rage Against the Machine

Product image
Forgotten Journey
Silvina Ocampo
Delicately crafted, intensely visual, deeply personal stories explore the nature of memory, family ties, and the difficult imbalances of love.

Product image
Troublemaker for Justice
The Story of Bayard Rustin, the Man Behind the March on Washington
Jacqueline Houtman, Michael G. Long, Walter Naegle
Searching for an uplifting book for kids? This biography of Bayard Rustin for young readers depicts his life of nonviolent activism and resistance.

Product image
ReTargeting Iran
David Barsamian
A timely primer on the conflict between the United States and Iran by scholars of Middle Eastern politics who advocate diplomacy and de-escalation.

Product image
ELADATL
A History of the East Los Angeles Dirigible Air Transport Lines
Sesshu Foster
A breathtaking free fall into the long-buried (and fictional) history of a utopian era in American lighter-than-air travel, as told by its death-defying, aero-acrobatic heroes.